Selected Civil War Photographs
Documenting the American South - This site is good for electronic texts, the southern homefront and slave narratives.
Know Southern History - Use for biographies, a timeline of southern history and links to cultural sources.
American South.org - Use for identifying primary sources in southern history.
The American Civil War Homepage - This is an outstanding source.
Nineteenth Century Documents Project - Links to the following topics: Early National Politics, Slavery/Sectionalism, Nebraska Bill, Sumner Caning, Dred Scott Decision, John Brown/Harper's Ferry, 1850s Statistical Almanac, 1860 Election, Secession/War, Post Civil War, Text Analysis Tools, Related Sites.
Civil War and Reconstruction - Links to the following topics:
- WWW sites
- Full text Histories
- Scholarly Articles and Reviews
- Primary sources
- Coming of the War 1850-59
- Political Crisis 1860
- Lincoln Administration
- Homefront South
- Homefront North
- Emancipation & Freedmen
- Military: Topics
- Military: Battles
- Soldiers & Veterans
- Graphics & Sound
- Teaching Aids
Civil War and Reconstruction (1850-1877)
- Africans in America: Judgment Day, 1831-1865 - An illustrated narrative about the period, a resource bank containing biographies, primary sources, commentary from modern historians, and a teacher's guide. The companion to the PBS series.
- The American Civil War - Current, comprehensive, and well-organized set of links on Civil War topics such as battles, music, and women in the war. Maintained by Jim Janke at Dakota State University.
- The American Civil War Home Page - Gateway to Internet resources on the American Civil War. Includes public and personal documents, visual documents, and maps. Maintained by George Hoemann at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville.
- American Civil War Collections - The University of Virginia presents six collections of Civil War letters, including letters from both Confederate and Union soldiers.
- American Visionaries: Frederick Douglass - An introduction to Douglass's life and work, illustrated with photographs of Douglass, his home, and various possessions. From the National Park Service.
- Andrew Johnson Impeachment Trial - Detailed information about the impeachment, from Douglas O. Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School.
- The Civil War in the Classroom - This companion site to the Ken Burns documentary provides ready-to-use lesson plans, including lessons on researching the Civil War in the local community.
- Civil War @ Smithsonian - This site provides access to many of the Smithsonian's resources on the Civil War.
- Civil War Women - The papers of three women who lived during the Civil War—a spy, a Union Army recruiter, and a schoolgirl. From Duke University.
- Crisis at Fort Sumter - Detailed background information is provided to assist users in solving the dilemmas facing President Lincoln in the events surrounding the fall of Fort Sumter. From Richard Latner of Tulane University.
- Emancipation Proclamation - Transcript of the document and an essay by noted historian John Hope Franklin.
- Eye of the Storm - The drawings and journal of Union soldier Knox Sneden, newly discovered in the 1990s and made available by the Virginia Historical Society.
- Freedmen and Southern Society Project - Essays and many primary source documents related to emancipation of American slaves. Among the tools on the site is a Chronology of Emancipation During the Civil War. From the University of Maryland.
- HarpWeek - Cartoons, photographs, magazine covers, and articles published in the mid-19th century. Some products must be purchased, but many others are available free on the site.
- Index of Civil War Information Available on the Internet - A searchable index provided by the United States Civil War Center at Louisiana State University.
- Lincoln/Net - Northern Illinois University focuses on "the Illinois years" (through 1861), providing historical essays and such primary source documents as transcripts of the Lincoln-Douglas debates.
- Making of America - A large collection of books and journal articles from the period 1850-1877. A project of the University of Michigan.
- North American Slave Narratives - Part of the University of North Carolina's Documenting the American South site, this page presents more than 200 narratives by slaves and former slaves, many published between 1850 and 1877.
- Papers of Jefferson Davis - Selected primary sources from the papers of the CSA's president.
- Stratford Plantation: The Birthplace of Robert E. Lee - Extensive information about Robert E. Lee and the Lee family, including primary source documents.
- The Underground Railroad - A site for young people provided by National Geographic.
- The Valley of the Shadow Project: Living the Civil War in Virginia and Pennsylvania - A unique web site containing many types of primary sources on the Civil War relating to two communities — one North and one South. Maintained by the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities at the University of Virginia.
Index of Civil War Information Available on the Internet Extensive A-Z listing of sites. Links to primary sources such as diaries.
Primary Documents in American History. Civil War and Reconstruction
Civil War Maps