Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Cold War America Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Cold War. Ref. D 843 .A668 1994
This is a one-volume work; not scholarly.

Encyclopedia of the McCarthy Era. Ref. E 743.5 .K57 1996
Covers people and events; not scholarly.

United States Intelligence: An Encyclopedia. Ref. JK 468 .I6 U57 1990

The Cold War, 1945-1991. Ref. D 839.5 .C65 1992
Three volumes. Vol. 1 covers leaders in the US and western Europe; vol. 2 covers leaders in the USSR, Eastern Europe, China and the Third World; vol. 3 covers chronology, history, concepts, events, organizations, bibliography and archives.

Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II. (Second edition online; 1st edition in print, Ref. D 843 .E46 1999)
Four volumes alphabetically arranged by country but vol. 1 covers topics like Roots of War, maps, alliances, and treaties and conflicts.

Encyclopedia of US Foreign Relations. Ref. E 183.7 .E53 1997
This is a four-volume scholarly work.

Encyclopedia of Cold War Politics. Ref E 840 .T57 2000
Non-scholarly.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of American Diplomatic History. Ref. E 183.7 .F5 1989

Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs. Ref. E 183.7 .F58 1993

Historical Dictionary of American Propaganda. Ref. E 183.7 .M325 2004

"Reference" Books

The Cold War Reference Guide. Ref. D 843 .S3365 1996
Covers chronology, important leaders, highlights of the cold war and a general history.

The Longman Companion to America, Russia, and the Cold War, 1941-1998. Ref. D 840 .Y68 1999
Good for conferences and summits, treaties, glossary, biographies, crises and conflicts, and chronology.

Internet Sites

Meta Sites

WWW-VL History :The Cold War History 1945-1991 - Covers:

Bibliographies | Virtual and Presidential Libraries | Timelines | Maps

Organizations and Journals | Chronological History | Geographical | Topics NB This site is currently not working

Overviews

Cold War 1945-1960

Cold War: a Brief History

Discussion Sites

H-Diplo

H-1960's

Documents

Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy, The Cold War

National Security Archive Click on documents at the top.

Cold War Files: Interpreting History Through Documents

Internet Resources for Declassified Documents

Annals of Communism

Conelrad
Documents from the old emergency broadcast system. This is an important source for American culture during the Cold War.

Historic Government Publications from World War II

Revelations from the Russian Archive

Foreign Relations of the United States
"The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies."

National Security Archive (George Washington University)

Documentary supplement to the article "Did NATO Win the Cold War? Looking over the Wall." Contains 18 documents from Soviet and American archives.

At Cold War's End. This is a book from the CIA. It covers the end of the Cold War.

Central Intelligence Agency. Electronic Reading Room.
You can search by 25 top documents or order new documents.

Avalon Project at Yale Law School.The Cuban Missile Crisis

Cold War International History Project - Covers:

  • The Warsaw Pact
  • The 1953 East German Uprising
  • The Korean War
  • The Cuban Missile Crisis
  • The End of the Cold War
  • The 1980-81 Polish Crisis
  • The Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan

Bibliographies

Cold War Bibliography - Covers:

Maps

The Cold War 1945-1960

Resources

Cold War Project - Covers:

Cold War Hot links

Cold War (from the BBC) - Covers the Korean War, Cuban Missile crisis, JFK, end of the USSR and more

Cold War (from Yahoo) - Covers:

 

Cold War Through Desert Storm - There must be over 200 links arranged in no particular order. Includes timelines, maps, songs, submarines people and events. Includes entire books that are now out of print.

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News