Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Criminal Justice Pathfinder

Introduction
The subject heading in the catalog is:  criminal justice
Print Sources
Encyclopedias

Battleground:  Criminal Justice.  Ref.  HV 7411 .B38 2007

Crime and the Justice System in America : An Encyclopedia.  Ref.  HV 6789 .C6884 1997

Encyclopedia of crime and justice.  Ref.  HV 6017 .E52 1983

Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice.  Ref. HV 9950 .B364 2001

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior. Ref.  HV 6017 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States:  From Capone's Chicago to the New Urban Underworld.  Ref. HV 6446 .K43 2000

The Encyclopedia of American Crime.  Ref. HV 6789 .S54 1982

The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime.  Ref. HV 6441 .D48 2005

Encyclopedia of Criminology.  Ref.  HV 6017 .B7

The Concise Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminals.  Ref.   HV 6017 .S35

The Encyclopedia of American Prisons.  Ref.  HV 9471 .S54 2003

The U.S. Federal Prison System.  Ref. HV 9471 .B677 2002

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States.  Ref.  HV 8694 .P35 2001

 
Dictionaries

The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice.  Ref.  HV 6017 .D38 2002

Dictionary of American Criminal Justice:  Key Terms and Major Supreme Court Cases. Ref.  HV 7411 .C53 1998

Dictionary of American Penology.  Ref. HV 9304 .W54 1996

The Dictionary of Criminal Justice.  Ref.  HV 7411 .R87 2000 

Black's Law Dictionary.  Ref. KF 156 .B53 2009


Internet Sites
Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Uniform Crime Reports of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Historical Statistics of the United States Colonial Times to the Present

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Crime Statistics City of Detroit

Statistical Information Michigan State Police

FedStats

Sourcebook of  Criminal Justice Statistics

National Archive of  Criminal Justice Data


Legal

Historic Court Decisions Dealing with Criminal Law


Government Agencies

Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms

Federal Bureau of Investigation

United States Department of Justice

Homeland Security


United States Sentencing Commission

United States Courts


Federal Bureau of Prisons

Office on Violence Against Women



Glossaries

Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Terms

Glossary of Legal Terms


Criminal Justice Associations

Organization Websites Very extensive list

National Criminal Justice Association

Yahoo Directory


Criminal Justice Associations and Organizations

Prisons and Criminal Justice Good listing for alternatives to prison.

American Civil Liberties Association


Resources

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Good for publications A-Z and also topics which links to question and answers.

Find Law You will find sites on criminal rights, procedures, charges, legal rights and so on.

Punch and Jurist "This site has been designed primarily to provide criminal defense attorneys with a single-stop, easy-to-use, and affordable source of the latest and most significant developments in America's fastest growing field of law - criminal law. However, this site can also be an invaluable guide to anyone interested in the field of criminal justice. "

The Sentencing Project

There are several headings in Opposing Viewpoints  that one should look at such as capital punishment, juvenile sentencing.

The Case Against Plea Bargains

How Plea Bargaining Works

Death Penalty Information Center

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence

Racial Disparities in Criminal Justice

Criminological Theory

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Topical Index


Criminology Mega Site


A-Z Index This is a topical index of Criminal Justice terms.







 







Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News