Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Death and Dying Pathfinder

Encyclopedias and Overviews

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying (Ref. HQ 1073 .M33 2003) 2 vols. This is the best place to begin your research as the entries are all written by scholars and topics are treated in depth. Also look at Encyclopedia of Death (Ref. BD 444 .E54 1989); also scholarly but briefer in scope. Death and the Afterlife (Ref. GT 3150 .T25 2000). This is a scholarly book that looks at such things as funeral customs, the afterlife, burial clothes and other topics such as Good Death in different cultures and religions.
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying

Encyclopedia of Cremation

Death Wiki essay


Dictionaries
Death Dictionary (Ref. HQ 1073 .Q 54 1994)
Internet Sites
INTERNET SITES

Resources (Associations, Organizations, Support Groups)

Links for Caregivers - final arrangements, like how to build your own casket, grief hospice and even pet loss.

Death, Grief and Mourning Resources

Growthhouse - there is a drop-down menu covering various aspects of death such as children, cancer, AIDS, palliative care, grief, etc.

Association for Death Education and Counseling - conferences, certification. Pay attention to Resources on the Web, off to the left at the bottom.

Evidence-Based Interventions to Improve the Palliative Care of Pain, Dyspnea, and Depression at the End of Life: A Clinical Practice Guideline from the American College of Physicians

Home Care for Advanced Cancer

End of Life: Exploring Death in America - includes transcripts from All Things Considered, Resources, which lists organizations, and readings, such as books and poems.

Project on Death in America - information on grants, newsletters and bibliographies.

BUBL LINK'S Death This is a collection of resources varying from the Tibetan Book of the Dead to funeral customs.

Kuebler-Ross Model
Wiki essay

"On Death and Dying" Interview with Elizabeth Kubler Ross


Oddities

Yahoo's Death and Dying - Covers suicide, palliative care, funeral etiquette and many other topics.

Sociology of Death and Dying -This site is something of a meta site but the organization is a bit lousy. Tab down a bit and you will see an Outline: General Resources, How We Die, Death against Culture and Time, etc. Within these topics there are further subdivisions.

Discussion List
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News