OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Economics Pathfinder

Reference Books
Literati accesses reference books from Credo
Print Sources
ENCYCLOPEDIAS

 The New Palgrave : A Dictionary of Economics (Ref. HB 61 .N49 1987)  Four volumes in length, its entries range from a page or so up to ten pages. Bibliographies are included. A related title is The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance (Ref. HG 151 .N48 1992).  There is also a five-volume set, Survey of Social Science (Ref. HB 61 .S94 1991) which does function as an encyclopedia if not in name. Terms are defined and then an overview, application, context and bibliography are presented. Entries tend to be 4-5 pages in length. Encyclopedia of American Economic History (Ref. HC 103 .E52) is a three-volume set that presents comprehensive articles by the top people in the field. This is a fine place to explore a topic as you can see what the literature is.  The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (Ref. HC 15 .O94 2003) is the latest title in our collection. Five volumes in length, the articles are scholarly. Related, but not as good, is the Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (Ref. HC 101 .G35).  The entries are not comprehensive and lack the authority of the former titles.  The Encyclopedia of Law and Economics is "is an ambitious reference work that attempts to survey the whole law and economics literature in nearly 5,000 pages. Most entries contain two elements: a review of the literature, written by an authority in the field, and a quasi complete bibliography (not just a selection)."

Another encyclopedia with a more narrow focus is An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics (also in print, Ref. HB 99.7 .E528 1997) which covers biographies of economists associated with Keynesian theory, brief sketches of principle models and tools used by Keynesian theorists and there are longer pieces of 4000-6000 words which deal with specific topics in Keynesian thought. The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy (Ref. HF 1373 .P75 2009) covers more than 300 topics. Here is an online encyclopedia from Credo: An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics. There are a number of other dictionaries and encyclopedias in the HB 61 area.

 

DICTIONARIES

Credo has made available several dictionaries derived from print sources. They include: Collins Dictionary of Economics; Dictionary of Economics; The Penguin Dictionary of Economics.

There are also Internet dictionaries, among them: Online Glossary of Economic Research, Glossary of Economic Terms. .

BIOGRAPHY

A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists; Who's Who in Economics; The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics


HANDBOOK

Economic Indicators Handbook (Ref. HC 103 .E26 1994) includes statistical series that measure the United States economy such as GDP and GNP.
 

SUNDRY

OECD Economic Surveys United States (Ref. HC 106.5 .O7; also available electronically in Academic OneFile) includes both narrative and statistical information on such topics as trends and developments, structural developments and macroeconomic policies. There are surveys for many other countries. Go to the Library Catalog and look up Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development as an author or browse "Publications" in Academic OneFile database.

Economic Report of the President (Ref. HC 106.5 .A272 2002) issued annually includes the annual report of the council of economic advisors and the prospects for the economy in the year ahead. Also online. Click here.
 

The Official Guide to the Generations (Ref. HC 110 .C6 M545 1995) and The Official Guide to American Incomes (Ref. HC 110 .I5 R 87 1995) provide statistical information on just what their titles suggest. Also look at Consumer Expenditures Survey. Data from 1984-current.

Guide to Economic Indicators (HC 103 .F9 2006; also available electronically in Credo Reference) explains the features of 70 economic indicators.

The Value of a Dollar (Ref. HB 235 .U6 V35 2004) records the prices of commodities from 1860-2004.


 

Internet Sources

Meta Browsers and Directories. WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources, which is good for international business and statistics.Another fine source is the Internet Public Library's Economic Resources. Sites are arranged alphabetically and cover a variety of topics.Take a look at Yahoo's Economics. This site is arranged by categories such as Currency, Game Theory and Global Economy. Economic Resources on the Internet is very useful because sites are annotated. Resources for Economists on the Internet lists over 1600 resources in 97 topics and most of the resources are annotated. Other worthwhile sites include Worldwide Web Resources in Economics.  It is especially strong on governmental (international), academic and professional association . US Economic Accounts is a good site for governmental,international regional and industry information.

. Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development  is good for economic and social policy. Be sure to click on Statistics.

Here are some other Resources:World Wide Web Resources in Economics; Subject Based Internet Resources: Economics (good for international data and statistical sites); Economics Resources (no focus here just a collection of electic sites such as Salary Calculator); BUBL LINK is a British site and is good for topics like macroeconomics, trade unions, and labor economics Indicators, Internet Resources for Economists has no central focus. Here you will find blogs, online classics in economics, jokes, quotes, Nobel laureates and much more.The Conference Board (hit the tab "Economics) is good for economic outlook, research and indicators. Bureau of Economic Analysis from the US government provides statistics for national, international, regional and industry accounts. Country Briefings from the Economist provides information on sixty countries. Resources for Economists on the Internet lists more than 1300 resources in such categories as forecasting, data and software. Research Papers in Economics provides access to working papers, articles, books and book chapters. The International Monetary Fund is an "organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty." Here one will find country and financial information. The World Bank is good for countries where the World Bank is working and topics in development such as AIDS, debt, corruption. Finance Resources on the Web is organized into several categories such as general finance, financial markets, corporate finance, etc. The Internal Revenue Service provides information on federal tax regulations.International Finance  has about twenty links related to  echange rates and international financial economics.

Data

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Fed Stats This THE place to go for federal statistics

Economic Report of the President

Federal Reserve Banks

ICPSR
"An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fiel"

World Bank Group


Business and Industry (from the Census Bureau)

Economic Indicators


Statistical Sources on the Web:Economics

Key Economic Indicators

 

Texts

Online Library of Liberty: Economics

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News