OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Family History Pathfinder

Print Sources

Encyclopedias

The Genealogist's Encyclopedia. Ref. CS 9 .P48 1970 - Not really an encyclopedia at all. Broad chapters like "Jewry," "Scottish Records," or "Irish Records."


Getting Started

Family Chronicle's Introduction to Genealogy. Ref. CS 16 .F35 1999

How to Find Your Family Roots. Ref. CS 16 .B35


Guides

The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy. Ref. CS 47 .G79 2000

The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy. Ref. CS 49 .S65 1984

 

Ethnic Connections

Finding Our Fathers: A Guidebook to Jewish Genealogy. Ref. CS 21 .R58

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Genealogy. Ref. CS 21 .E53 1991

How to Trace Your Jewish Roots. Ref. CS 21 .D38 2000

In Search of Your British and Irish Roots. Ref. CS 414 .B38 1999

Ancestral Trails: The Complete Guide to British Genealogy and Family History. Ref. CS 414 .H47 1997

In Search of Your German Roots. Ref. CS 614 .B39 1994

In Search of Your European Roots. Ref. CS 403 .B39 1994

Irish Family Histories. Ref. CS 498 .G74 1993

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Irish Ancestors. Ref. CS 483 .R33 2001

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Italian Ancestors. Ref. CS 753 .N45 1997

A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Immigrant & Ethnic Ancestors. Ref. CS 49 .C384 2000

Genealogical Research for Czech and Slovak Americans. Ref. CS 524 .M54

Black Genesis. Ref. CS 21 .R57

Black Genealogy. Ref. CS 21 .B55

Welsh Family History. Ref. CS 453 .W45 1999

Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide. Ref. CS 49 .E83 1983

 

Resources

Passenger and Immigration Lists. Ref. CS 68 .P3 - This is a 3-volume work with supplements.

Dictionary of American Family Names. Ref. CS 2485 .D53 2003 - There are short essays in v.1 on the history of ethnic family names. Be sure to browse in the area for other books on ethnic family names.

International Vital Records Handbook. Ref. CS 42.7 .K46 2000 - Use this to obtain birth, marriage and death certificates for all states and foreign countries.

The Ancestry Family Historian's Address Book. Ref. CS 44 .S65 1997. - Lists local, state, and federal agencies and ethnic and genealogical organizations.

The Handy Book for Genealogists. Ref. CS 47 .E9 1981 - Arranged by state. Here one would find county seats, census available, genealogical societies, libraries, archives, etc.

Virtual Roots: A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web. Ref. CS 21 .K46 1997 - Major headings include General Subjects, like church records or embassies, United States and International and Family Associations.

American Passenger Arrival Records. Ref. CS 49 .T46 1993 - Not a listing by name, as in Passenger and Immigration Lists (supra) but a record of sources on this topic.

Immigrant and Passenger Arrivals: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Ref. CS 47 .A1 U54 1991

Going to Salt Lake City to Do Family History Research. Ref. CS 49 .P37 1993

Internet Sources
Meta Sources and Portals

Ancestor Roots Information - Cemeteries, Funeral Homes, Obituaries; Census Records; Databases; Immigration and Migration; Inheritance; Social Security Records.

General Genealogy Sources - Lists and portals; directories and guides; projects; mailing lists; societies; essays and articles.

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet

Genealogy and Family History Internet Web Directory


Getting Started

Getting Started in Genealogy

How to Get Started in Family History

Professional Genealogy and Family History Research - Good for listing of sources and locating professional genealogists.

How to Start Your Family History

Getting Started

"How To" Guide

How Do I Begin to Document and File Family History? An Introduction

Family History and the Internet - This cite contains practical tips plus online sites.

Ancestors - This site is a companion to the PBS series.

Ethnic Connections

Ethnic Sites

United Kingdom

Ireland

Continental Europe

Canada

Moravia, Bohemia, Czech Republic, Germany - Scroll down a bit.

Immigration History Research Center - Lists several ethnic sites.

Africa


Passenger Lists

Ship Passenger Lists and Passenger Lists Online

The Ships List

Ship Passenger Arrival Records


Glossaries

Ancestors: Glossary of Terms


Pedigree Charts and Famiy Trees

Pedigree Chart

Family Group Record

Build Your Family Tree


Maps

Maps and Gazetteers - primarily Europe

Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information

Resources

Federation of Genealogical Societies

FamilyHistory.com

The Genealogy Home Page - Maps, libraries, news groups, societies

Family Search Internet Genealogy Service

Family History and the Internet

Heritage Quest

Ellis Island:The American Family Immigration History Center

 

Computer Files

Personal Ancestral File - This is a free computer file to help researchers keep track of their information.

Genealogy Software -There are some genealogy software vendors on this page. Scroll down a bit.

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News