OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Folklore Pathfinder

Print Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art. (Ref. GR 35 .F63 1997) This is a scholarly source, international in scope.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore. (Ref. GR 111 .A47 G74 2006) This three volume work contains scholarly entries.

African Folklore: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. GR 350 .A33 2004) Includes over three hundred scholarly entries on African folklore.

Encyclopedia of American Folk Art

Medieval Folklore. (Ref. GR 35 .M43 2000) 2 volumes. This is a scholarly work. In volume 2 there are indices of motifs and tale types.


The following titles are in the circulating collection on the third floor.

American Folklore: An Encyclopedia. (GR 101 .A54 1996) This is a comprehensive encyclopedia; the entries are written by scholars. Entries are up to five pages in length and include bibliographies.

Storytelling Encyclopedia. ( GR 72 .S76 1997) The subtitle "historical, cultural, and multiethnic approaches to oral traditions around the world" defines the scope of this book.

An Encyclopedia of Fairies. (GR 549 .B74 1976b)

Clowns and Tricksters: An Encyclopedia of Tradition and Culture. (GR 524 .C48 1998)

The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead. (GR 830 .V3 M45 1999) This is a scholarly book;check out the entry on Dracula. A companion volume is The Vampire Gallery: A Who's Who of the Undead (GR 830 .V3 M46 1998).

Animals with Human Faces. (GR 705 .R68)

 Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes. (GR 35 .S4 2001)

 American Folklore

SURVEYS

Bulfinch's Mythology. Do not be deceived by the title as vol. 2 and 3 deal with the age of chivalry and legends of Charlemagne.

MOTIF-INDEXES

Motif-Index of Folk Literature. (Ref. GR 67 .T52) 6 volumes.

Motif-Index of Early Irish Literature. (Ref. GR 67 .C7)

Index to Fairy Tales, 1949-1972. (Ref. GR 550.A1 I73) There is also a supplement.

Motif-Index of Traditional Polynesian Narratives. (GR 380 .K5; 3rd floor)

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols. (Ref. GR 35 .J6 1962)

Funk & Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology and Legend. (Ref. GR 35 .F8)

Dictionary of American Folklore. (Ref. GR 105 .T3)

Larousse Dictionary of World Folklore. (GR 35 .J664 1995; 3rd floor)

A Dictionary of Fabulous Beasts. (GR 825 .B28 1971; 3rd floor)

The Dictionary of Imaginary Places. (GR 650 .G8 1980; 3rd floor)

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable 

GUIDES

Folklore: A Study and Research Guide. (Ref. GR 66 .A1 B78) This book will explain the "structure" of the discipline, the reference books, theories and writing a research paper.

Internet Sites

Directories etc:

BUBL Link Folklore Link not working Recheck

American Folklife Center overs:General Sources | Directories | Scholarly Programs | Archives and Museums | Online Presentations of Archival Collections | Grants and Awards | Journals and Newsletters | Societies | Educator's Resources | Ethnomusicology and Folksong Resources | Fieldwork | Indigenous People's Resources | Mythology and Narrative

Yahoo

Virtual Library:Folklore

Online Journals:

Arthuriana: The Journal of Arthurian Studies

American Folk

Folklore

Culture and Tradition (Canadian)

Cultural Analysis

African Studies Quarterly

Online Texts:

Aesop's Fables

Cinderella Project - provides a dozen English versions of fairy tales.

Hans Christian Andersen Fairy Tales and Stories

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts - covers American and English literature and western philosophy

Grimm's Fairy Tales

Online Books Page - tab down to the GR's and P's

Project Gutenberg - searchable by either author or title.

TuneBook Live - provides scores from folk songs around the world.

Sixteenth Century Ballads

Digital Music Collections

The Mudcat Cafe - provides texts of ballads.

The Labyrinth Library

Werewolf Legends from Germany

Folklore, Myth and Legend

Myths and Folktales

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts

Folk Music of England Scotland, Ireland, Wales and America - Provides both words and music.

Folklore, Material Culture and Entertainment

 

Societies, Directories and Programs, Resources

American Folklife Center - Folklife Sourcebook

The American Folklore Society

Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage

Archives

American Folklife Center - from the Library of Congress

Archive of World Music - some of the collections in this archive have been digitized.

Southern Folklife Collection - some of the recordings and photos are digital.

 


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News