OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

French History Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

Medieval France. (Ref. DC 33.2 .M44 1995)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture. (Ref. DC 33.7 .E53 1998)
Entries range from short essays to sketches.

Histoire de France. (DC 38 .R43, 2 vols., 3rd floor)
In French. Chronologically arranged, ancient times to WWI.

Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers. (Ref. AE 25 .E33)

Europe, 1450-1789. (Ref. D 209 .E97 2004)
Multivolume, a good place to explore a topic.
Dictionaries

A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution. (Ref. DC 148 .D5313 1989)
This book is a good place to begin research. It is arranged by topics such as Events or Actors and then within these topics are essays of several pages.

Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution. (Ref. DC 147 .H57 1984, 2 vol.)
This, too, is a fine book, arranged alphabetically.

Dictionary of the Napoleonic Wars. (Ref. DC 151 .P67 1999)

Dictionary of the Napoleonic Wars. (Ref. DC 147 .C47 1993)

France, 1789-1962. (Ref. DC 35 .C66 1975)

Historical Dictionary of World War II France. (Ref. DC 397 .H58 1998)

Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991. (Ref. DC 410 .H57 1992)

Companions
The Longman Companion to the French Revolution. (Ref. DC 155 .J66 1988)
Atlases

Atlas Historique et Culturel de la France. (Ref. DC 35.5 .B65)

 

Sundry
The Regions of France: A Reference Guide to History and Culture. (Ref. DC 33.7 .N63 1996)
For each region this book discusses geography, history, recent politics, population, culture and even recipes.
Bibliographies
Bibliographie Annuelle de L’Histoire de France. (Ref. DC 38 .A1 B5 1953-1973)
Internet Sources

Meta Sites and Gateways

VLIB Histoire  Not Working Recheck
This site is arranged by era and discipline, such as cultural history. It also has a search engine.

Tennessee Bob’s Famous French Links
This site covers every aspect of French culture. Scroll down a bit and you will find several history sites.

Voice of the Shuttle Middle Ages to the present

 

Encyclopedias

The ARTFL Encyclopedie

Encyclopedia of Revolutions of 1848


Resources

History of France
Very strong on biography. By periods and the Napeleonic wars.

Historical Text Archive
This is a great collection of sources on many topics. But not all the links work.

H-France
This is good for discussions, book reviews and be sure to click the History link, which will take you to many sites from medieval times to the 20th century.

France in World War II

French Medieval History and Culture

Revues.org
Lists several journals and table of contents.

Pointeurs pour l’Histoire Sociale
Links to primary sources, bibliographies and electronic resources.

The French Republican Calendar

Napoleon Series
Contains several sites on Napoleon.

Napoleonic Guide
  "The Napoleonic Guide is the best reference source for everything you need to know about the life and times of Napoleon Bonaparte. It has more than 2500 pages of information covering all aspects of the greatest era in world history."

Napoleon.org
In English or French, the purpose of this site is to encourage the study of the 1st and 2nd Empires. Covers new books, discussion forums, etc. Log in required.

Historical Persons :France

Documents and Primary Sources

History of France: Primary Documents

The ARTFL Project "

Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Along with ARTFL's flagship database ARTFL-FRANTEXT, ARTFL members are also given access to a large variety of other Subscriber Databases.

In addition to our member services, ARTFL also supports many Public Access databases including the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes. As we move forward, we continue to foster a spirit of digital collaboration at ARTFL, which has resulted in a host of French and non-French projects with various research partners in North America and abroad, as well the development of a suite of open source search and retrieval products that build upon our original PhiloLogic search engine."

Textes de Francais Ancien
Must register.

The Siege and Commune of Paris, 1870-1871
This site contains images.

Exploring the French Revolution
Contains images, essays, documents, timelines and glossaries.

J’Accuse

Napoleonic Primary Sources
Includes letters from Napoleon and documents from the Conseil d’Etat and more.

Correspondence of Napoleon

Archives Te'le' et Radio

French History Also good for gateways and reference sources

Gallica Includes thousands of digitalized documents and images from the middle ages to the 19th century.

Revolutionary France Links to many documents, Napoleon to present

 


Maps and Atlases

France in the 10th Century

Historical Maps Web Sites

Maps of the Hundred Years War



Chronologies

Chronology of French History

 

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News