OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Gilded Age Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era (Ref. E 661 .E53 2005) Three volumes; a good place to explore a research paper.

Encyclopedia of American Urban History (Ref. HT 123 .E49 2007) Two volumes of scholarly entries.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

Forums

H-Amstdy - Good for book reviews, too.

H-SHGAPE - Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.

Primary Sources

New York Times Historical 1851

Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature. (Ref. AI 3 .P7 1958)

Harper's New Monthly Magazine 1850-1899

Electronic Texts Books written and read duing the Gilded Age

How the Other Half Lives Classic book by Jacob Riis

Documents for the Study of American History
 

Resources

General Resources on the Gilded Age and Progressive Era - This is a great place to begin. Broadly arranged by topics, such as Political Leaders, Transformation of the West, Big Business, etc.

The Progressive Era/The Gilded Age - There are three area that you should pay attention to: Urban and Working Conditions, Immigration and The Robber Barons.

Historical Text Archive, 1830-1900 - No topical organization here. Contains essays and original sources. Everything from the history of barbed wire to John D Rockefeller. Still, a good source; under one link I found a reprint of a scholarly article, “‘No Irish Need Apply’: A Myth of Victimization.” Click on  "United States."

The Fall of Third Parties in the Gilded Age - This site amounts to a short essay. It has a bibliography and links to other third parties.

America’s Story - From the Library of Congress. Again no theme.
Here are some examples:

  • A Warrior on the Sports Field, "World-Class Athlete Jim Thorpe Was Born"
  • A Woman on the Dollar? "Susan B. Anthony Supports Women's Suffrage Amendment"
  • Dancing Down Broadway,"Bill "Bojangles" Robinson Was Born"
  • Dear Diary, "Theodore Roosevelt Wrote in His Diary"
  • Does Anybody Know What Time It Is? "Four Standard Time Zones for the Continental U.S. Were Introduced"
  • Give My Regards to Broadway, "George M. Cohan Was Born"
  • Going to the Met, "The Metropolitan Opera House Opened in New York"
  • Have a Coke and a Smile, "The First Coca-Cola Served"
  • Hello, Is the Sun Shining? "Alexander Graham Bell Invented the Photophone"
  • How a River Can Light Your Home, "The World's First Hydroelectric Power Plant Began Operation"

Touring Turn of the Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company 1880-1920

Gilded Age to World Power - This is good collection of esoteric sites, many of which don’t work. I found some good ones on the Northern Plains and Advertising.

Rise of Industrial America - Provides original sources, such as interviews, essays, etc. on immigration, city and rural life, work, the West and Chinese immigration.

American Cultural History  Each decade provides information on pass times,reading interests,social miovements,eduaction,news etc. many links within the essays.

Tenement Museum Includes walking tours of the Lower East Side

Bryan's Cross of Gold  speech. You can listen to it.

Best of History Websites:The Gilded Age Outstanding collection of sites;a few links dont work.

Illinois During the Gilded Age This is a collection of sites on the Haymarket affair,Pullman Strike and important people.

American Memory From the Library of Congress browse by topc. for example click on advertising and you will get  this site on advertising in the gilded age.

Cartoons of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era







 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News