Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Greek Art Pathfinder

Timelines and Chronologies
Subject Heading
The subject heading in the catalog is art greek
Encyclopedias and Overviews

Grove Art Online This site should be the first place to go to explore your subject. Note the search bar in the upper right hand corner. Can also search for images and subjects. The articles can be lengthy and are written by scholars. Entries include bibliographies.

Greek Art From the Columbia Encyclopedia; provides a brief overview of the various periods. Some links.

Greek Sculpture This is a lengthy essay.

A History of Ancient Greek Art Essay type links to topics such as Pottery, Ionic and Doric Orders.

Classical Greek Sculpture Links to the Parthenon, Methods of Sculpture.

Greek Art in the Archaic Period From the MMOA Several links and bibliographies.

Roman Copies of Greek Statues From the MMOA. Ditto.

Ancient Greek Art Wiki essay

Timelines and Chronologies
Images

Greek Art and Architecture Links to sculpture, jewelry and vases.

Greek and Roman Art from the Cleveland Museum of Art

Greek Art This site has a few images but on the left you will see links to various topics and people in ancient Greece.

Museum of Antiquities Collection Links to several figures in Greek mythology.

Ancient Greece Links to a very large collection of images. Some of the links don't work.

Metropolitan Museum of Art  Links to many images.

Greek Architecture Explanation and examples of Ionic, Doric and Corinthian Architecture. See links at bottom of page.

Greek Art Large number of images. No particular order.

Greek Art This Google site will take you to an awesome number of images. You will be here forever.

Art and Architecture And here is another large site of coins, vases, buildings and architecture.

The Beazley Archive Slides shows for pottery, gems and sculpture. This site also contains a database: "By 2004 the Beazley Archive had more than twenty databases of different types of objects in different formats. To manage data more efficiently they were merged into one 'extensible' database system (XDB) between 2004 and 2005. Merging datasets also enabled the 'benefits' of one database to be transferred to another. For example, a database of inscriptions on Athenian vases was merged with the Pottery Database, and the latter was merged with Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum."

Art Images for College Teachers

ARTstor - Browse by subject or use search engine.


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News