Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Health Sciences Pathfinder

Print Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

There are no print encyclopedias per se; I mean, nothing like an Encyclopedia of  Public Health. But since Health Sciences is a very broad area, consider these titles: Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (Ref. RC 41 .G35 2002); Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (Ref. RC 46 .H333 2005; 2008 available online--follow link from Library Catalog); Encyclopedia of Cancer (Ref. RC 262 .E558 2002); Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (Ref. RC 334 .E53 1987); Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Ref. RA 790 .E53 1998); Encyclopedia of Microbiology (Ref. QR 9 .E53 2000); Encyclopedia of Immunology (Ref. QR 180.4 .E56 1992); Encyclopedia of Gerontology (Ref. RC 952.5 .E58); Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (Ref. R 733 .G 34 2001). There is also an online encyclopedia: Medical Encyclopedia from MedlinePlus and, the databse Health and Wellness Resource Center from the Library of Michigan. Be sure to also browse in the RC and RA areas.
 

DICTIONARIES

We have oodles of dictionaries, mostly medical, in the Ref. R 121 area. Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology (Ref. R 121 .J86 2002) and Mosby's Medical Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary (Ref. R 121 .M 89 2002) come closest to health sciences. Mosby's is also online. Some other standards include Stedman's Medical Dictionary (Ref. R 121 .S8 2008) and Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary (Ref. R 121 D73). There are also a number of online dictionaries: Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary;Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine,Nursing and Health Professions.
  

SUNDRY REFERENCE BOOKS

Statistical Record of Health & Medicine (Ref. RA 407.3 .S83 1995). This book is a "compilation of national, state, and municipal health and medical statistics from government, academic, association, trade, technical and media sources." Want to know what are the top ten hospitals for cancer treatment or how many latex gloves are used? Well, it's all here.

Merck Manual of Medical Information (Ref. RC 81 .M535 2003). Covers every disease in such fields as dentistry, gynecology and psychiatry plus many other topics such death and dying.

Merck Manual. This is the online version of the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy (Ref. RC 55 .M4), commonly referred to as the Merck Manual.

Health Care State Rankings 2007. (Ref RA 407.3 .H423 2007)
 

STATISTICS

 EVALUATING RESOURCES IN HEALTH SCIENCES

Code of Conduct for Medical and Health Web Sites.
Internet Sources

METASITES,Directories ,Gateways

A metasite will introduce you to the scope of a subject, such as professional organizations, listservs, electronic journals and so Martindale's Health Science Guide is one of those sources that you could say if it's not here it probably doesn't exist. Scroll down to the "virtual" medical center and pick a "center," such as veterinary. You will get online journals, dictionaries, online classes, curriculum, anatomy. It is truly catholic--nothing lacking. Another such site is WWW Virtual Library: Medicine and Health. I clicked on the Complete List and what I got was an alphabetically arranged list of health sites, some links to organizations, institutions, online journals, and resources

 
DISEASES

Here are some sites for finding information on diseases: Diseases and Conditions and the Internet Public Library's Diseases, Disorders and Syndromes and Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
 

ORGANIZATIONS

Healthfinders Organizations.
 

RESOURCES

Resources will provide you with links to certain specialties within the health field. Some of these sites include the Internet Public Library's Health and Medical Sciences, Health Information Resources, the W.K. Kellogg Health Sciences Library Subject Resources, CDC (Centers for Disease Control) which has information on just about any malady you can think of. Important Websites is an A-Z list of  many topics in medicine and health. Health and Nutrition has links to prescription drugs,caregivers,insurance and health topics A-Z

HEALTH INFORMATION

Healthfinder. This site has a search engine. It is definitely for the consumer with an information need. Still, it is reliable.For something more reliable try Mayoclinic.com

NUTRITION

Nutrition.gov. This site has a search engine and you can browse by audience.

The Nutrition Source. Covers these topics: alcohol, food pyramid, fiber, Type 2 diabetes and many more.

DRUGS

RX List. Has a search engine and also a list of the 150 most prescibed drugs. Clinicaltrials.gov "ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals."

HIV

HIV Today. Good for news articles and international conferences on HIV.

ETHICS

The Hastings Center. Focuses on research in biomedical ethics.

PUBLISHER UPDATES

Elsevier. This is an important site as you can see the latest books in the field and the tables of contents for hundreds of journals.


 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News