OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

History of Photography Pathfinder

Subject Heading
The subject heading in the catalog is photography history.
Print Sources

Encyclopedias

The Photography Encyclopedia. Ref. TR 9 .M39 1999
Short entries but a large collection of pictures of photographers.


Encyclopedia of Photography. Ref. TR 9 .F6 1993
This book is good for the technical aspects of photography.

Pictorial Cyclopedia of Photography. Ref. TR 9 .F62 1968
Ditto for this book.

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography. Ref. TR 642 .E5 2006
This three-volume title is a great place to explore a research paper.

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography Ref TR 9 H25 2008 This two volume set is another fine place to explore a topic.

Dictionaries


A Dictionary of the Photographic Art. Ref. TR 9 .S67 1979

Looking at Photographs: A Guide to Technical Terms. Ref.TR 9 .B35 1991

Guides to Collections

Guide to Photographic Collections at the Smithsonian Institution. Ref. TR 6 .U62 W37

International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and Exhibitions. Ref. TR 12 .E85 1998

Bibliographies

Nineteenth Century Photography. Ref. TR 15 .J64 A1 1990

A Highly Important Library of the History of Photography. Ref. TR 145 .J33 1990

Nineteenth-century Photography: An Annotated Bibliography, 1839-1879. Ref. TR 15 .J64 A1 1990

History of Photography: A Bibliography of Books. Ref. TR 15 .A1 R66 1989 v.1-4.

International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections and Exhibitions. Ref. TR 12 .E85 1998

Biography (not strictly biographical)

Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research. Ref. TR 15 .P477 2000

International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and Their Works. Ref. TR 15 .E48 1988

An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988. Ref. TR 139 .W55 1988

Pioneer Photographers of the Far West: A Biographical Dictionary, 1840-1865. Ref. TR 139 .P35 2000

Biographies of Western Photographers. Ref. TR 139 .M38 1997

Photographers Encyclopaedia International, 1839 to the Present. Ref. TR 139 .A94 1985

Contemporary Photographers. Ref. TR 139 .C663 1988

Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists and Innovators. Ref. TR 139 .B767 1983

Resources for Collectors

The Photograph Collector's Guide. Ref. TR 6.5 .W57

History (N.B.: These are not Reference books)

Davis, Keith F. An American Century of Photography: From Dry-Plate to Digital. Kansas City: Hallmark Cards, in association with Harry N. Abrams, 1995. (TR 23 .H35 1999)

Frizot, Michel, ed. A New History of Photography. Cologne: Könemann, 1998. (TR 15 .N6813 1998)

Greenough, Sarah. On the Art of Fixing a Shadow: One Hundred and Fifty Years of Photography. Washington: National Gallery of Art; Chicago: The Art Institute of Chicago, 1989. (TR 15 .O5 1989)

Hambourg, Maria Morris, et al. The Waking Dream: Photography's First Century. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1993. (TR 650 .W26 1993)

Hambourg, Maria Morris, and Christopher Phillips. The New Vision: Photography between the World Wars. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1989. (TR 646 .U6 N4818 1989)

Lemagny, Jean-Claude, and André Rouillé, eds. A History of Photography: Social and Cultural Perspectives. Cambridge: Oxford University Press, 1986. (TR 15 .H5613 1987)

Newhall, Beaumont. The History of Photography from 1839 to the Present. 5th ed. New York: The Museum of Modern Art, 1982. (TR 15 .N47 1982)

Rosenblum, Naomi. A History of Women Photographers. Paris, London, New York: Abbeville Press, 1994. (TR 139 .R67 2000)

Rosenblum, Naomi. A World History of Photography. 3rd ed. New York: Abbeville Press, 1997. (TR 15 .R67 1997)

Szarkowski, John. Photography Until Now. New York: The Museum of Modern Art, 1989. (TR 15 .S965 1989)

Onlibe Sources

Meta Sites

Voice of the Shuttle
Covers these topics:

  • General Resources
  • Galleries & Museums
  • Photographers, Works, Projects
  • Holography
  • Theory & Criticism
  • Photography Journals
  • Photography Listservs & Newsgroups
  • Academic Depts. & Programs

Resources

America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views, 1839-1864


History of Photography . Coverage is from its beginnings to the 1920s.

BUBL Link's Photography
There are 40 varied sites: Ansel Adams to archives.

Image Collections and Online Art
Links to various collections.

Internet Public Library's Photography Resources Type in history of photography

WWW Virtual Library's Photography

History of Photography
Coverage includes:

  • Photography History 19th Century
  • Photography Artistic 20th Century
  • Postmortem photography
  • Photographic Criticism
  • Documentary photography
  • Spirit Photography
  • Photography Of Men
  • Evans, Walker, 1903-1975
  • West (U.S.) -- Pictorial works.
  • Photomontage

Yahoo's Photography
This is an easy-to-use directory of sites, alphabetically arranged. Good for History and Photographers.

Internet Sites Related to Photography and Films
Of interest will be the "headers" on photographers, photography collections and general resources, photography.

Select List of Web Resources
The emphasis is on history with no focus.

American Photography: A Century of Images

The Daguerrian Society
This site is good for resources, galleries and a fine bibliography.

Albumen Photographs: History, Science, Preservation

Civil War Photography

Contemporary Daguerreotypes

Etudes Photographiques

Several Photography & Imaging oriented mailing lists on the Internet

Michigan Photographic Historical Society

La Site de la Societe Francais de Photographie

Society for Photographic Education

Time & Life Pictures: Defining Visions of an Enduring History

Covering Photography

Collections
New York Public Library Digital Collection

Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian

The George Eastman House

Metropolitan Museum of Art

American Memory
You can search by Topics, List All Collections or use the search engine. Covers these topics:

  • Advertising
  • African American History
  • Architecture, Landscape
  • Cities, Towns
  • Culture, Folklife
  • Environment, Conservation
  • Government, Law
  • Immigration, American Expansion
  • Literature
  • Maps
  • Native American History
  • Performing Arts, Music
  • Presidents
  • Religion
  • Sports, Recreation
  • Technology, Industry
  • War, Military
  • Women's History

Smithsonian American Art Museum

Wisconsin Historical Images

UCR/California Museum of Photography

Lacma Collections Online
Can browse by date, subject and artist.

Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives

Prints & Photograph Reading Room (Library of Congress)

American Museum of Photography

Center for Creative Photography

The Getty Photo Study Collection
"The Photo Study Collection's two million photographs facilitate supplementary and original pictorial research for the study of fine arts from antiquity to the modern period. The collection's strength lies in the photographic reproduction of western art, architecture, and decorative arts. Patrons can conduct productive research on the history of collecting (provenance, art market, connoisseurship), iconography, conservation, historiography, and the history of reproductions."

Images
ArtStor Search by subject or use search engine.

Biographies

Women Photographers

Masters of Photography

Photographer Biographies

The Great Photographers

Some Great Photographers

American Masters Database Covers these artists:

  • Avedon, Richard
  • Calder, Alexander
  • Capa, Robert
  • Curtis, Edward
  • Eakins, Thomas
  • Fuller, Buckminster
  • Hirschfeld, Al
  • Johns, Jasper
  • Johnson, Philip
  • Kertesz, Andre
  • Leibovitz, Annie
  • Motherwell, Robert
  • Noguchi, Isamu
  • O'Keeffe, Georgia
  • Rauschenberg, Robert
  • Ray, Man
  • Remington, Frederic
  • Rivera, Diego
  • Rockwell, Norman
  • Saint-Gaudens, Augustus
  • Smith, W. Eugene
  • Stieglitz, Alfred
  • Warhol, Andy
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News