The Encyclopedia of Ireland. (Ref. DA 906 .E535 2003) The Encyclopedia of Ireland. (Ref. DA 906 .E53 2000) Conflict in Northern Ireland. (Ref. DA 990 .U46 E44 1999)
The Encyclopedia of Ireland. (Ref. DA 906 .E535 2003)
The Encyclopedia of Ireland. (Ref. DA 906 .E53 2000)
Conflict in Northern Ireland. (Ref. DA 990 .U46 E44 1999)
The Oxford Companion to Irish History. (Ref. DA 912 .O94 2002)
An Atlas of Irish History. (Ref. DA 913.5 .E38)
Meta Sites WWW-VL: History of Ireland There is everything here: history by period; language; maps; museums; archives; libraries; journals. Many sites on the famine that are not documents. Encyclopedias Catholic Encyclopedia Encyclopedia of the Celts Resources History of Ireland Covers the Easter uprising, the potato famine and the Uprising of 1797-1798. Northern Ireland Conflict (1968 to the Present) History This site is good for the Rebellion of 1798, Charles Parnell, Easter Uprising, famine and Eamon De Valera. Ireland Story This site is good for The Troubles and the Omagh Bomb. There is also a Complete History of Ireland. Sources in the National Archives for Researching the Great Famine H-Albion Discussion forum for British and Irish History. American Conference for Irish Studies Click on Resources and then Related Links for a large number of sound links. Economic and Social History Society of Ireland British & Irish HistoryIrish History Online A Bibliography of Irish HistoryIrish History This is an important source as it lists gateways,documents,references and other resourcesVoice of the Shuttle you may have to scroll down to Ireland;you will get documents,topics and period sites.
Meta Sites
WWW-VL: History of Ireland There is everything here: history by period; language; maps; museums; archives; libraries; journals. Many sites on the famine that are not documents.
Encyclopedias
Catholic Encyclopedia Encyclopedia of the Celts
Catholic Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of the Celts
Resources
History of Ireland Covers the Easter uprising, the potato famine and the Uprising of 1797-1798. Northern Ireland Conflict (1968 to the Present) History This site is good for the Rebellion of 1798, Charles Parnell, Easter Uprising, famine and Eamon De Valera. Ireland Story This site is good for The Troubles and the Omagh Bomb. There is also a Complete History of Ireland. Sources in the National Archives for Researching the Great Famine H-Albion Discussion forum for British and Irish History. American Conference for Irish Studies Click on Resources and then Related Links for a large number of sound links. Economic and Social History Society of Ireland British & Irish HistoryIrish History Online A Bibliography of Irish HistoryIrish History This is an important source as it lists gateways,documents,references and other resourcesVoice of the Shuttle you may have to scroll down to Ireland;you will get documents,topics and period sites.
History of Ireland Covers the Easter uprising, the potato famine and the Uprising of 1797-1798.
Northern Ireland Conflict (1968 to the Present)
History This site is good for the Rebellion of 1798, Charles Parnell, Easter Uprising, famine and Eamon De Valera.
Ireland Story This site is good for The Troubles and the Omagh Bomb. There is also a Complete History of Ireland.
Sources in the National Archives for Researching the Great Famine
H-Albion Discussion forum for British and Irish History.
American Conference for Irish Studies Click on Resources and then Related Links for a large number of sound links.
Economic and Social History Society of Ireland
British & Irish HistoryIrish History Online A Bibliography of Irish HistoryIrish History This is an important source as it lists gateways,documents,references and other resourcesVoice of the Shuttle you may have to scroll down to Ireland;you will get documents,topics and period sites.
Full Text Documents - General
CELT – Corpus of Electronic Texts This is an outstanding collection of texts--historical, legal, genealogical, literary and by prominent people. Coverage is from the 5th-20th centuries. Easter 1916 by Yeats Historical Text Archive - Ireland Irish Political Documents These are mostly 20th century. History of Ireland: Primary Documents Ancient times to the present. Postcards: Easter 1916
CELT – Corpus of Electronic Texts This is an outstanding collection of texts--historical, legal, genealogical, literary and by prominent people. Coverage is from the 5th-20th centuries.
Easter 1916 by Yeats
Historical Text Archive - Ireland
Irish Political Documents These are mostly 20th century.
History of Ireland: Primary Documents Ancient times to the present.
Postcards: Easter 1916
Full Text Documents – Potato Famine
Annals of the Famine in Ireland Pictorial Sources Data
Annals of the Famine in Ireland
Pictorial Sources
Data
Chronologies
Chronological List of Dates in Irish History
Maps
Maps of Ireland and Northern Ireland
Maps of Ireland
Irish History in Maps
Dan Ring Reference Librarian ring@oakland.edu 248.370.2498
Oakland University, Kresge Library 2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309 (248) 370 - 4426