OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Japanese History Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. (Ref. DS 805 .J263 1993)

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. (Ref. DS 805 .K633 1983)

Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture and Nationalism. (Ref. DS 805 .M63 1998)

Japan Encyclopedia. (Ref. DS 821 .F73 2002)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture. (Ref. DS 822.5 .E516 2002)

Japan Knowledge Plus

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Japanese History. (Ref. DS 805 .G64)

Historical and Geographical Dictionary of Japan. (Ref. DS 833 .P3 1964)

Atlas

Cultural Atlas of Japan. (Ref. DS 821 .C62 1988)

 


Bibliographies

Japanese History and Culture from Ancient to Modern Times. (Ref. DS 835 .A1 D69 1996)

An Introductory Bibliography for Japanese Studies. (Ref. DS 806 .A1 I57, 1974-2006)


Internet Sites

Meta Sites

WWW-VL History Index - Scroll down about one-half way and you will find many links to history sites.

Voice of the Shuttle: Japan

Resources

CIA World Factbook - Basic information about each country.

Japan - A Country Study - From the Library of Congress, this book provides extensive information on each country.

H-Japan - This site is good for discussions, forums and book reviews.

H-Asia - Ditto.

Historical Text Archive - Extensive collection of links to many topics.

Japanese War Crimes

Researching Japanese War Crimes

History of Japan: An Annotated Directory of Internet Sources
This is an outstanding collection of sites from prehistory to postwar Japan.

Internet East Asian History Sourcebook - There are three important "chapters" here: Traditional Japan; Japan as a World Power; and Postwar Japan.

Periods of Japanese History - Arranged by period from ancient times to the present. Each period provides an essay with many links.

History of Japan - This is a nice collection of annotated sites.


Texts and Documents

Hiroshima Archive - Mostly pictures.

Nagasaki Journey - Pictures and recollections of the bombing.

Atomic Bomb: Decision - Documents dealing with the decision to drop the bomb.

Constitution and Laws

Birth of the Constitution of Japan



Maps and Atlases

Japan Atlas

Japan Maps - Includes city, regional and historical maps. (From the University of Texas)

Japanese Historical Maps

 

Timelines and Chronologies

History - Overview

Japanese History: A Timeline


Bibliographies

Bibliography of Japanese History Up to 1912

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News