Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Linguistics Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

We have several encyclopedias, both multi-volume and single. Among the former are included the Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (Ref. GN 307 .E52 1996). It's best to use the index in the fourth volume. For example, "Phonemes" would be found under "Descriptive Linguistics." Next is the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Ref. P 29 .I58 2003), also a four-volume set, with index in vol.4. The set is alphabetically arranged by topic. The entries are essay length and written by an international team of scholars. The set attempts to include the whole range of linguistics. Encyclopedia of Language and Education (Ref. P 40.8 .E53 1997) is an eight-volume set with each volume devoted to a topic such as applied linguistics or language theory. Each book consists of essays written by different scholars. Chapters are about 3000 words with references. The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics contains " contains articles, including short biographical entries, providing uniquely comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of sociolinguistics. " Here are some other online Encyclopedias:Encyclopedia of Communication Theory;Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science.

Moving on to single volume titles we have The Linguistics Encyclopedia (Ref. P 29 .L52 2002). With some exceptions, entries are about five pages. There is a list of subjects in the front and an index in the back. Language and Communication (Ref. P 29 .F 47 1998) is a slender volume of essays that treat language from a cross-cultural perspective. Here one will find entries on such topics as say, "Backchannel Cue" or "Cocktail Party Effect." The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language (Ref. P 29 .C64 1997) is arranged by sections, such as "Child Language Acquisition," with chapters on "Grammatical Development" or "The Languages of the World" and chapters on "The Origins of Language." Chapters are about 5 pages. The Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics (Ref. P 40.8 .C66 1999) "aims to present any knowledge from linguistics...that may have a bearing on the education of children and adults." (p. 1) Its scope is thus broad: "Society," where one will find essays on "Diglossia" or "Language Loyalty" or "National Policy" with chapters on various countries' language policies. There is also a Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language (Ref. PE 1072 .C68 2003). Try the MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (Ref. BF 311 .M556 1999). The International Encyclopedia of the Social. Sciences is now online.Click here.

Dictionaries

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics (Ref. P 29 .M34 1997)

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics (Ref. P 29 .C65 2008; 2003 edition available online)

Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics (Ref. P 29 .B875 1996)

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language & Languages (Ref. P 29 .C68 1992)

Glossary of Linguistic Terminology (Ref. P 29 .P39 1966)

Dictionary of Languages (Ref. P 29 .D35 1998; 2006 edition available online)

A Glossary of Sociolinguistics. (Ref. P 40 .T747 2003)

A Glossary of Language and Mind. (Ref. P 37 .A374 2003)


Some other online dictionaries include:

Glossary of Linguistic Terms

Lexicon of Linguistics

Language Dictionaries and Translator



Atlases

The Atlas of North American English: Phonetics, Phonology and Sound Change. (Ref. PE 2808 .L26 2006)

See also: A Map of Languages in the United States.
"The MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States. The census data are based on responses to the question, "Does this person speak a language other than English at home?" The Language Map illustrates the concentration of language speakers in zip codes and counties. The Data Center provides census data about over three hundred languages spoken in the United States, including actual numbers and percentages of speakers."
Grammars

Grammars And Language Courses.   Provides grammars for about 100 languages.

Glossary of Grammatical Terms.

Daily Grammar.  
 
Internet

Resources

iLoveLanguages: Your Guide to Languages on the Web

Identifies 74 resources in linguistics.

Linguistic Resources on the Internet
Covers morphology, speech and phonetics, grammar and syntax, etc.

Yale University Library Linguistics
Useful for other gateways and online publications.

Yahoo: Linguistics
Subject arrangement, such as language acquisition, semiotics. Includes other site listings.

The Linguist List


Center for Applied Linguistics
Has a search engine and covers these topics:

  • Adult ESL Literacy
  • Adult ESL
  • Bilingual Education
  • Dialects/Ebonics
  • Foreign Language
  • Heritage Languages
  • Immigrant Education
  • Integrated
  • Language/Content
  • Int'l Education
  • K-12 ESL
  • Language Testing
  • Literacy (Adult ESL)
  • Literacy (PreK-12)
  • Public Policy Issues
  • Refugee Concerns
  • Research Studies
  • School Reform
  • Two-Way Immersion
 

Corpora

British National Corpus

Corpus Linguistics   

Center for Spoken Language Understanding's Current Corpora


Online Periodicals, Surveys, and Newsletters

SIL Serial Publications And Journals   Good for table of contents and back issues.

SIL Electronic Survey Reports

MIT Press Computational Linguistics


Papers

SIL Electronic Working Papers

Antwerp Papers in Linguistics


Bibliographies

SIL Bibliography

Sound Files

Online Speech Synthesizer

Speech Accent Archive


Other Internet Sources

Ethnologue: Languages of the World.  Good for language names, families and codes.

BUBL LINK Linguistics.  A few gateways here but mostly topics.

Internet Public Library: Language & Linguistics.  Good for unusual topics; no major thrust; divided into English and non-English sites.

Endangered languages Archive

Language Log Blog

 

 

 


Linguistics Department
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News