OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Medical Reference Sources Pathfinder

Encyclopedias

The Merck Manual. (Ref. RC 55 .M4 2011) Lists the diagnoses and therapies of several disorders in the medical field.

Encyclopedia of Cancer. (Ref. RC 262 .E558 2002; 4 volumes) One hundred sixty-three articles on different aspects of cancer including its "epidemiology, its treatment, and its molecular and genetic treatment.

Alternative Medicine, the Definitive Guide. (R 733 .A46 2002; 3rd floor)  See also IPL's site on Alternative Medicine.

Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health. (Ref. RA 784 .R646 2003) Follows an encyclopedia/dictionary format. Discusses eating disorders, obesity, addiction, dieting and weight loss, etc.

Encyclopedia of Mental Health. (Ref. RA 790 .E53 1998; 3 volumes) Lengthy articles. Considers the molecular, biological, social and cultural aspects of mental health.

Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation. (Ref. R 856 .A3 E53 2006) Six volumes of information on the subject.

Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders. (Ref. RC 552 .E18 C37 2006)

Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears and Anxieties. (Ref. RC 535 .D63 2008)

Encyclopedia of Alzheimer's Disease. (Ref. RC 523 .T87 2003)

Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and other Psychotic Disorders. (Ref. RC 514 .N63 2007)

Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy. (Ref. RC 475.7 .E55 2002)

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology. (Ref. RA 418 .E354 2004)

Encyclopedia of Women's Health. (Ref. RA 778 .A494 2009)

Encyclopedia of Senior Health and Well Being. (Ref. RC 952.5 K357 2003)

Encyclopedia of Men's Reproductive Cancer. (Ref. RC 280 .G52 T876 2005)

Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Cancer. (Ref. RC 280 .G5 T78 2005)

Encyclopedia of Breast Cancer. (Ref. RC 280 .B8 T876 2005)

Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors. (Ref. RC 564 .G95 2006)

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures. (Ref. RA 418 .E534 2004) Volume 1 is arranged by topics and volume 2 by cultures.

Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Ref. RC 437 K34 2008)

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine.  Contains 1700 full length articles on common medical disorders.

Magill's Medical Guide. (2008) Essays of varying length on major disorders of the human body.

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. (Also available in Medical Study Room, RC 46 .H333 2012) This is the best place to go when needing information on a disease or malady-it's what internists use when diagnosing a disease. The index is in the second volume.

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience. (Ref. RC 334 .E53 1987)

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. (print, Ref. R 733 .G34 2001) Four volumes in length, it provides 750 articles on therapies, diseases and herbs.

The International Encyclopedia of Depression


Encyclopedia of the Human Brain

Encyclopedia of Women's Health

Encyclopedia of Elder Care

Encyclopedia of Heart Diseases

Encyclopedia of the Human Genome

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine

Gale Encyclopedia of Intensive Care Medicine

Encyclopedia of Men's Reproductive Cancer

Encyclopedia of Cancer


Encyclopedia of Exercise Medicine in Health and Disease


Encyclopedia of Radiation Oncology

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health





Dictionaries

Slee's Health Care Terms. (Ref. RA 423 .S55 2008)

Stedman's Medical Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .S8 2008) Includes terms of essential value to the field of medicine. Comparative temperature scales, weights and measures, temperature equivalents, laboratory reference range values.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .T18 2005; 2009 available electronically through the Library Catalog) Includes medical terminology and tables and illustrations relevant to the medical world. Also, a unique "Feature Finder" that helps the reader locate a particular anatomical part. It also explains what the use of the particular feature is in a separate section.

Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine. (Ref. RC 1206 .O94 1994)

Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology. (Ref. R 121 .J86 2002)

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

Yahoo has several dictionaries.

Black's Medical Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .B598 2006) A British dictionary to medical terminology.

Black's Medical Dictionary


Periodical Indexes
Medline. From the National Library of Medicine, indexes approximately 5,200 titles. The Medical Subject Headings are available and recommended for precise search. The articles indexed in Medline are written by and for doctors. For more layman-type articles, use the Health Reference Center on InfoTrac Searchbank.
Medical Abbreviations
Directories
The American Hospital Association Guide to the Health Care Field. (Ref. RA 977 .A1 A46) A directory to some of the leading health care institutions in the United States. AHA statistics are also a part of this directory.

Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .M89 2002) This directory includes units of measure, symbols, prefixes and suffixes, and history common knowledge to the disciplines of medicine.

See also AMA Physician Select.
Handbooks
American Handbook of Psychiatry. (RC 435 .A562) Six volumes of information pertaining to important characteristics of psychiatry.

Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook. (Ref. RA 1215 .P65 2008)

Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens. (Ref. RA 1215 .S58 2008)

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. (Also in print, RC 71 .C8 2009)

Professional's Handbook of Complementary & Alternative Medicine. (Ref. R 733 .F477 2004) More than 325 common herbal medicines.

Merck Manual of Medical Information.
Statistics
Atlas of United States Mortality.

AHA Hospital Statistics. (Ref. RA 981 .A2 A6234 2005)


Diagnostic Tests
Laboratory Tests & Diagnostic Procedures. (Ref. RB 38.2 .L33 2008)

Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference. (Ref. RB 38.2 .P337 2007)

Patient's Guide to Medical Tests. (Ref. RC 71 .P38 1997) Two parts. Part 1 contains references on patients' rights, role of screening, etc. Part 2 is arranged by disease or organ affected.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV; DSM-IV-TR. (Ref. RC 455.2 .C4 D54 1994; Ref. RC 455.2 .C4 D536)
Drug Information
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals. (Ref. RS 51 .M4 2006)

Physician's Desk Reference: PDR. (Ref. RS 75 .P5)

Physician's Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements. (Ref. RS 250 .P52; most recent ed. on reserve at Circulation Desk)

Encyclopedia of Addictive Drugs. (Ref. RM 316 .M555 2002)

Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook. (Ref. RC 271 .C5 W54)
Diseases
Professional Guide to Diseases. (Ref. RT 65 .P69 2005)

The Cambridge World History of Human Disease. (Ref. R 131 .C233 1993)




Symptoms
Professional Guide to Signs & Symptoms. (Ref. RC 69 .P77 2007)

Complete Guide to Symptoms, Illness & Surgery. (Ref. RC 81 .G834 2006)

Style Manual

American Medical Association Manual of Style. (Ref. R 119 .A533 2007) Details the AMA format for citing works and setting up papers.

Medical Schools and MCAT
Medical School Admission Requirements. (Ref. R 745 .A8) Provides information useful for going through the process of applying for and getting accepted to medical school.

Cracking the MCAT:  2010-2011 edition.  (Ref. Reserve R 838.5 .F53 2010; Circulation Desk)

MCAT Premier Program. (Ref. Reserve R 838.5 .M323 2007; book and CD)

New MCAT Medical College Admission Test . (Ref. Reserve R 838.5 .B36 2007; may be checked out for 1 week period)

McGraw-Hill's New MCAT. (Ref. Reserve R 838.5 .M36 2010; book and CD; may be checked out for 1 week period)

Barron's Guide to Medical & Dental Schools. (Ref. R 735 .A1 B37 2012)

Graduate Medical Education Directory. (Ref. R 840 .D56 2007-2008)
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News