Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Medieval, Byzantine, Romanesque and Gothic Art Pathfinder

Subject headings
art medieval; art byzantine; art romanesque; art gothic
Overviews Medieval,Byzantine,Romanesque and
Oxford Art Online This is the best place to explore your topic.

Medieval Art
Wiki essay

Byzantine Art Wiki Essay

Byzantine Art Catholic Encyclopedia

Byzantium (330-1453 ca) MMMA

Romanesque Art Wiki essay

Gothic Art Wiki essay

Gothic  Art MMA

Gothic Architecture Catholic Encyclopedia

Ecclesiatic Architecture (Romanesque) Catholic Encyclopedia

Virtual Museum
Medieval

Images of Medieval Art and Architecture Includes 3000 images, mostly religious. Also a glossary.

Voice of the Shuttle You might have to scroll up a bit. Includes Byzantine, Romanesque, Gothic and general sources.

Labyrinth This site has links to Gothic and Romanesque resources.

Medieval Art This is a large collection of sites with no arrangement.

Early Medieval Art Links to early Medieval, Romanesque and general resources.

Netserf

Windows in Church Architecture This is an essay from the Catholic Encyclopedia; many links.

Sources for Medieval Art on the WWW Covers sculpture, stained glass, manuscripts, etc.

Mediebval Art
From the MMA Good for themes

Byzantium

Byzantine Art This is an encyclopedia type resource with many links to artists and works of art.

The Power of Symbolism in Byzantine Art This site is an essay.

Byzantine and Medieval Links Index This site is a vast collection of resources arranged by topic and country. "This page attempts to track ALL Byzantine material on the Internet, and ALL significant entry points for Medieval studies. Ancient and Classical links, except insofar as they impinge directly on Byzantine and Western Medieval matters, should be sought out via the direct links provided to  ARGOS associates which track and maintain sites devoted to the Ancient world. a vast collection of resources arranged by topic and country."

Early Christian and Byzantine Art This site is good for icons.

Artcyclopedia This site is good for artists.

Early Christian and Byzantine Image Pages

Byzantine Art This is a large collection of links arranged in no order. Also includes museums.

Byzantine Art:Mosaics History and Characteristices Video

Byzantine Art and Architecture  Video

Romanesque

Romanesque Art This site is an essay with many links.

Art History Resources on the Web: Romanesque This site is a large collection of images.

Romanesque Art Slide Show

Gothic

Voice of the Shuttle This site lists general links and a few specfic to Italy.

ArtCyclopedia This site is good for artists.

Glossary: Gothic Art and Architecture

Art History: Gothic This site is good for artists.

A History of the Gothic Period of Art and Architecture This site is an essay.

Artlex on the Gothic Period and Style This site is good for examples of Gothic art.

Gothic Art This essay on Gothic architecture is from the Metropoitan Museum of Art. It has several links and a bibliography.

Gothic Art and Architecture Links to history, painting, sculpture.

Images

ARTstor Browse by subject or use search engine

 
 
  

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News