OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Medieval History Pathfinder

Print Sources
ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D 114. D5 1982)
Less a dictionary and more of an encyclopedia this 13 volume set, edited by one the great medievalists, Joseph Strayer, is a good place to explore a topic. Vol. 13 is an index.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D 114 .E539 2000)
This is a two-volume set of more recent vintage than the above. There is a table of rulers in the back of vol. 2.

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization. (Ref. D 114 .G7 1980)

The Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D 114 .E53 1999)
Short entries by one renowned historian, Norman Cantor. Be sure to read the Introduction "The Middle Ages: Discovery and Identity", which is kind of a precis of his book Inventing the Middle Ages.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D 114 .B86 1995)
This is a one- volume book. Entries are short. There are appendices of rulers and dynasties of Europe and Islam and a glossary of medieval terms.

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. D 125 .M42 2001)

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. DA 129 .M43 1998)

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. DC 33.2 .M44 1995)

The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Anglo-Saxon England. (Ref. DA 152 .B58 1999)

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. DG 443 .M43 2003)

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. DD 157 .M43 2001)

Encyclopedia of the Crusades. (Ref. D 155 .A6 2002)

Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia

HANDBOOK

Handbook of Medieval Studies. (Ref. D 116 .H37)


DICTIONARY

Concise Dictionary of Medieval History. (Ref. D 114 .W4)


CHRONOLOGY

 

Chronology of the Medieval World. (Ref. D 118 .S855 1994)


DOCUMENTS

Basic Documents in Medieval History. (Ref. D 113.5 .D6)

BIOGRAPHY

Who's Who in the Middle Ages. (Ref. CT 114 .S56 2001)


BIBLIOGRAPHIES

There are several bibliographies in the same area (Ref. D 113-117). None of them are current.

ATLASES

Atlas of Medieval Europe. (Ref. G 1791 .K5 2000)

Penguin Atlas of Medieval History. (Ref. G 1034 .M2 1961)

Atlas of Medieval Europe. (Ref. G 1791 .M2 2007)

Historical Atlas of the Medieval World. (Ref. G 1034 .H39 2000)
Internet Resources

Encyclopedias

Catholic Encyclopedia - 1908 edition

Crusades-Encyclopedia - links to over 900 entries on the Crusades.

Gateways

Wess Medieval and Renaissance Web

Medieval and Renaissance Websites

Internet Resources for Medieval Studies Here is the coverage
:| General Index Sites | Text Sites | Language & Linguistics | Bibliographies | Manuscripts | Specific Authors & Texts | Resources by Discipline | Resources by Geo-Cultural Area | Organizations & Academic Departments | Journals | E-Discussion Lists & Teaching Resources | Link not working Recheck


Resources

The ORB: On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Here are some of the links you will find on the ORB:

The ORB Encyclopedia
Start your ORB explorations here! A chronological and geographical index of essays, bibliographies, images, documents, links, and other resources, selected by ORB section editors to illustrate their selected topics.

The ORB Textbook Library
Full-length textbooks, written by experienced scholar-teachers and tested both in the classroom and on the internet. They are fully copyrighted but available for classroom use.

What Every Medievalist Should Know
The essential tools of the medievalist, provided by James Marchand and edited by Stephen Mark Carey. These 45 lists, arranged topically and alphabetically, comprise the premier guide to medieval studies.

Resources for Teaching
Sample syllabi from our contributors; related teaching materials, including study questions, writing guides, and tips for test-takers; subject-specific bibliographies, graphics, software, more.

Of General Interest
You've seen the movie, now read the book(s)...a collection of resources gathered especially for the nonspecialist.

External Links
Sites of interest to ORB users--everything from French medieval drama texts and a patristics data base to English towns and churches. Some of these are in the process of becoming part of ORB.

E-Texts
New transcriptions and/or translations of important medieval texts that have not previously been accessible in print or electronic format.

The ORB Reference Shelf
Links to excerpts and full texts from primary and secondary sources, housed here at the ORB server or elsewhere on the World Wide Web.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources- This site is organized by broad topic: culture, women, art, people, etc.

Medieval/Middle Ages Resources - This has many fine esoteric sites: women, towns, manuscripts, arts, crusades.

BUBL Link's Medieval History - An odd assortment of sites like embroidery, brewing, outlaws, technology and Robin Hood, to name a few.

Medieval History Resources - You will find sites on town life, art, drama, brewing, weddings, Italian theater--no particular arrangement to this site.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index- Covers journal articles, book reviews and indexes on women, sex and gender during the Middle Ages. By using the "Advanced Search", you can search by article type, century and geographic area.

Medieval Technology Pages - Click on "Subject Index" and you will find an alpha list of sites on technology.

Medieval Home Pages - This site is good for societies and institutes.

Byzantine and Medieval Studies Index - This site is strong on Byzantium, the Islamic world and the Near East. You will find Latin and northern European sites near the bottom. This site is very important.

Medieval English Towns

"The aim of the Medieval English Towns site is to provide historical information about cities and towns in England during the Middle Ages, with particular but not exclusive emphasis on medieval boroughs of East Anglia and on social, political and constitutional history. A growing selection of primary documents (translated into English) relevant to English urban history is included. "

The Medieval Review
  "Since 1993, The Medieval Review (TMR; formerly the Bryn Mawr Medieval Review) has been publishing reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies, a field it interprets as broadly as possible. The electronic medium allows for very rapid publication of reviews, and provides a computer searchable archive of past reviews, both of which are of great utility to scholars and students around the world."


Medievalists.net
  Coveers articles, conferences,books etc

Biographies

Biographies of Women in the Middle Ages

Middle Ages Biographies

Saint's Lives

Bibliography

Feudalism Bibliography

Maps

Historical Maps of Europe

Bodleian Library Map Room

Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Maps and Images

Dictionaries

Feudal Terms of England and other Places

Feudal, Medieval and Castle Terms

Documents and Primary Sources

Medieval & Renaissance Europe: Primary Historical Documents

Plague and Public Health in Renaissance Europe

Magna Carta

Online Medieval and Classical Library - There is a search engine, but scroll down a bit to browse by author and title.

Guide to Early Church Documents Scroll down

The Labyrinth - This is an important source for full text and images. It is arranged by authors, national cultures, special topics. Some of the links don't work.

Christian Classics: Ethereal Library - Good for the early church fathers.

Domesday Book Online

Codices Electronici Sangallenses "The purpose of the "Codices Electronici Sangallenses" (Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen) is to provide access to the medieval codices in the Abbey Library of St. Gallen by creating a virtual library. At the moment, the virtual library contains 131 manuscripts. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended. "

Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland "The purpose of “e-codices” is to provide access to the medieval codices in Switzerland by creating a virtual library. At the moment, the virtual library contains 380 manuscripts from 16 different libraries. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended."

Medieval and Renaissance Studies This is a vast collection of texts,images and related sites
 

Timelines

Medieval Military History Timelines

Medieval History Timelines. Mostly British.

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News