OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Middle Eastern History and Politics Pathfinder

Print Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East. (Ref. DS 43 .E53 2004) This is a multi-volume title that contains scholarly articles.

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians. (Ref. DS 113.6 .E53 2000)

Concise Encyclopedia of the Middle East. (Ref. DS 43 .H47)

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa. (Ref. CT 1866 .B56 2008)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the  Islamic World. (Ref. DS 35.53 .O96 2009

Oxford History of Islam. (BP 50 .O95 1999; 

Encyclopedia Judaica. (Print edition, Ref. DS 102.8 .E65 2007) 

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa


DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of the Middle East. (Ref. DS 43 .H57 1996)

The Middle East Political Dictionary. (Ref. DS 61 .Z58 1984)

The United States in the Middle East: A Historical Dictionary. (Ref. DS 63.2 .U5 S384 1998)

A Popular Dictionary of Islam. (Ref. BP 40 .N48 1992)

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam. (Ref. BP 40 .O95 2003


CHRONOLOGIES

Gulf Crisis Chronology. (Ref. DS 79.72 .G818 1991)

Persian Gulf War Almanac. (Ref. DS 79.72 .S862 1995)

Political and Diplomatic History of the Arab World, 1900-1967: A Chronological Study. (Ref. DS 62.8 .M35)


COMPANIONS

The Longman Companion to the Middle East since 1914. (Ref. DS 62.4 .O94 1998) This book is good for factual information like short biographies, chronologies, glossaries, rulers, etc.

The Arab-Israel Dispute. (DS 119.7 .P4497 1996)


COUNTRY INFORMATION

The Europa World Year Book. (Ref. JN 1 .E85) For each country there is a lengthy survey and then statistical information on the economy, etc.

Political Handbook of the World. (Ref. JF 37 .P6)

Country Studies Scroll through the list.


ATLASES

Atlas of the Middle East. (Ref. G 2205 .A853 2003)

Historical Atlas of Islam. (Ref. G 1786 .S1 R9 2004)


Internet Resources

Gateways - The following  sites are a great place to begin as they provide a tour d' horizon of the field: associations, libraries, news and much more.

Middle East Resource Guide

Middle East Studies Internet Resources

 Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Orient

Encyclopedia :Middle Eastern History

Encyclopedia :Middle Eastern History Biography


Resources

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
This site will provide gateways for specific countries.

Center for Contemporary Arab Studies This site has a number of "hot" topics.

Palestinian Refugee ResearchNet

Islam

H-Mideast Politics This is a discussion forum; book reviews, too.

Area and Regional Studies Scroll down to Middle Eastern Studies.

History in the News: The Middle East

An Open Door to the Arab World

Ottoman Web Site

Islam and Islamic History in Arabia
and The Middle East

Islam and Islamic Studies Resources

Middle East Virtual Library

Middle East and North Africa Good for economic statistics.

Maps and Atlases

Islam's Historical Development

Middle East Maps From the University of Texas.



Country Information

CIA World Factbook

Country Studies/Area Handbooks

BBC Country Profiles

Background Notes From the US State Department.

Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs Also from the State Department. Click on the country for more information.


Chronologies

Islam Chronology

Timeline of Middle Eastern History


Dictionaries

 
The Islamic Glossary


Sources

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook

The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record

Primary Sources, Documents, Speeches and Archives


Organizations

Center for Contemporary Arab Studies

 

 

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News