OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Physics Pathfinder

Print Resources

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E546 1985)
This is an excellent one-volume encyclopedia. The articles are long, signed and include cross references.

Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E545 1991)
Signed articles, often lengthy, written by authorities. Includes bibliographies, cross-references, and index.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .M15 1996)
While intended for a broad range of readers, this four-volume set is actually written for people with more than a smattering knowledge of physics. Articles are comprehensive and include bibliographies. Each volume has a list of abbreviations and notational symbols.

How Things Work: The Physics of Everyday Life. (QC 21.2 .B59 1997; 3rd floor)
Contains 51 sections, grouped into 19 chapters, which discuss how a particular thing works. The chapters are arranged according to major physics themes.

Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E52)
Nine volumes plus five supplements. Volume 8 is a subject and author index, Volume 9 is a multilingual glossary. Contains signed articles ranging from a few lines to 3,000 words. Supplements contain survey articles on "new topics" in physics.

The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy. (Ref. QC 450.3 .P47 1995)
Topics are arranged alphabetically.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry.   (Ref. QD 95 .E55 2000)

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics. (Ref. QB 14 .E525 2001)
This is a multi-volume text.

Here are some online glossaries:

Glossary of Nuclear Science Terms

Advanced Mechanics

Elementary Particle Physics
 

HANDBOOKS

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. (Ref. QD 65 .H3)
Sections include Mathematical Tables, the Elements and Inorganic Compounds, Organic Compounds, General Chemicals, General Physical Constants and Miscellaneous.

Handbook of Thermal Conductivity of Liquids and Gases. (Ref. QC 145.4 .T5 S67 1994)
Covers almost all the data on thermal conductivity of pure liquids and gases.

Handbook of Optics. (Ref. QC 369 .H35)
Arranged by broad subject, e.g., Radiometry and Photometry. "Tables and graphs contain data that are applicable to many optical problems involving the ultra violet, visible, and infrared spectral regions." Chapters include explanatory text and references.  

American Institute of Physics Handbook. (Ref. QC 61 .A5 1972)
Provides authoritative information on various aspects of physics such as acoustics, heat, etc.  

Reference Data on Atoms, Molecules and Ions. (Ref. QC 173 .R2613 1985)
Contains information about the structure and properties of atoms and molecular particles.

The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas (Ref .QC 61 .W67 2000)

Reference Data on Atomic Physics and Atomic Processes

Handbook of Mathematical Functions


TABLES

Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Funcitons.   (Ref. QC 61 .K3 1986)
Provides current tables both in physics and chemistry for specialist and scientist. See also Formulas, Facts & Constants (Ref. QC 61 .F58 1987) and A Physicist's Desk Reference (Ref. QC 61 .F58 1987).
Internet Sources

Ready Reference


Units Converter

Web Elements

The Laws List Laws, principles, rules, etc. in physics.

The "Virtual" Physics Center. This book is kind of like an on-line CRC.

Symbols Used in Problems

Nobel Laureates in Physics

Contribution of Twentieth Century Women to Physics

Tables of Physical Data

Physics reference Tables

Physics and Astronomy Reference

Reference Tables for Physical Setting

Atomic and Nuclear Physics Constants

Resources

DC Physics Here are some links you will find:

  • Animations / Simulations
  • Employment
  • General Physics
  • Hobby Physics
  • Humor - Physics
  • Humor - Math
  • Journals and Magazines
  • Lecture Notes
  • News Sources
  • Reference Desk (tables, constants, etc.)
  • Research Papers in Physics
  • Software (download shareware & freeware)
  • Textbooks (online)
  • Tutorials (online)

Help for Physics Students

Physics 2000 - ". . . an interactive journey through modern physics!" Covers three main headings: Einstein's legacy; the atomic lab and science trek.

Physics Central covers six main areas: people in physics; physics in pictures; physics news; physics links; how something works; and essays from physics authors.

Physics.org - Interactive sites that explain the general universe.

PhysNet - This site is good for links to physics departments worldwide, conferences and jobs

Einstein Light - Presents the idea of relativity.

National Climatic Data Center - Focuses on archives of weather and climate data.

American Nuclear Society - Covers:  Membership Information; Honors and Awards; Career Center;  Advertising; Public Information; Meetings; Publications; Standards; ANS Store; Units.

Internet Public Library's Physics Resources

NIST Virtual Library

Meta and Directory Sites

Yahoo's Physics

Virtual Library:  Physics 

 
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News