OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Public Administration Pathfinder

Print Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS and Directories

International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. (Ref. H 97 .I574 1997)

Encyclopedia of  Associations (Ref HS 17 .E53 )

Michigan State and Local Government on the Web


Yahoo Directory of Links to State Government


Public Policy Issues and Groups

 

DICTIONARIES

Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration. (Ref. JA 61 .W54 2001)

Public Administration Dictionary. (Ref. JA 61 .F69 1995)

Public Administration Dictionary. (Ref. JA 61 .C47 1988)

The Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration. (Ref. H 97 .S483 2004)

 

GUIDES (We have several Guides, some of them getting to be dated but they have not been revised.)

Information-Finding and the Research Process: A Guide to Sources and Methods for Public Administration and the Policy Sciences. (Ref. JF 1351 .A1 S53 1993)

Public Administration in American Society: A Guide to Information Sources. (Ref. JK 421 .R63)


SOURCES

Basic Documents of American Public Administration, 1776-1950. (Ref. JK 411 .B3)

Basic Source Materials in Public Administration. (Ref. HT 167 .A1 C6 no.603)

Public Policy Archive



ALMANACS (both of the titles below are good for information on US Senators and Representatives)

Almanac of American Politics. (Ref. JK 1012 .A44)

Politics in America. (Ref. JK 1012 .P64)

Almanac of the 50 states (Ref  HA 214  A445)

Almanac of Policy Issues


 

ADDRESSES AND PHONE NUMBERS

 Congressional Directory. (also available at Ref. Desk JK 1011)

United States Government Manual. (also available at Ref. Desk JK 421 .A3)

Washington Information Directory. (Ref. Desk F 192.3 .W33)

 


STATISTICS

Statistical Abstract of the United States. (also available at Ref. Desk HA 202 .S7)

Historical Statistics of the united States Colonial times to 1970 Online

FedStats

City and County Data Book 2007

State and Metrpolitan Area Data Book 2006

Federal State and Local Governments Fom the Census Bureau this contains a wealth of data.

World Bank Public Sector Debt Statistics

ICPSR

"An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."

Bureau of Labor Statistics


BUDGET

Budget Of the United States

Citizen's Guide to the Federal Budget

 Financial  Report of the United States Government

Economic Report of the President

Congressional Budget Office


US GAO

 

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks are not traditionally reference books. I include a few nonetheless. They are on the 3rd floor.

Handbook of Public Administration. (JF 1351 .H276 1996)

Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration. (JF 1338 .A2 H34 1999; also available online. Search by title in the Library Catalog and choose the Electronic Resource record. Click on the Internet link.)

Handbook of Budgeting ( HG 4028 B8 H36 1999)


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News