Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Renaissance Art Pathfinder

INTRODUCTION

See Art and Art History pathfinder for general reference and Internet sites. This pathfinder focuses on reference and Internet sites specific to the Italian and Northern Renaissance Art.  The pathfinder Italian Renaissance History might also be useful.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance.  Ref. CB 361 .E52 1999  This six volume set is THE place to begin your research.

A Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance.  Ref. DG 445 .C66

The Encyclopedia of the Renaissance.  Ref. CB 361 .B43 1987


DICTIONARIES

The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance.  Ref. CB 361 .C27 2003

Dictionary of the Renaissance.  Ref. CB 361 .S45

INTERNET SITES FOR THE ITALIAN RENAISSANCE

Overviews

Grove Art Online  This essay is a good place to explore your topic. Covers the Northern Renaissance too.

The Civilization of the Renaissance in Italy  By Jacob Burkhart.

Renaissance Art and Architecture 

Italian Renaissance Art  

The Renaissance 1350 -1550  This 14-page essay limns the highlights of the Renaissance. Focus is on Italy but other countries are considered.


Resources

Fresco Wall Murals  

Art History: Renaissance  This is good for biography and links to galleries.

Examples of Renaissance Works of Art  

Renaissance Art in Italy  

Italian Renaissance Architecture

Renaissance - Art on the Web

Italian Renaissance  

Life in Italy  - Look off to the left and you will see several sites on the Renaissance.

Images of Renaissance Art :Italian Art  

Renaissance Art Links  

Web Gallery of Art   - Arranged by artists.

Drawings of Italian Painters  

Renaissance Sculpture  

Early Renaissance   Arranged by artist; good for images.

High Renaissance  Ditto.

The Renaissance  Scroll down and you will see a section on art and architecture.

Guided Tours   Covers 14 guided tours of the Italian and Northern European Renaissance.

Digital Michelangelo Project  

Michelangelo Buonarroti  This site is good for biography.

Renaissance and Baroque Art Links  


Images

ARTStor 


Discussion Groups

H-Italy Look off to the left and you will see discussion groups for art and architecture.

ARTHIST: h-net Information Network for Art History   This site is more general. Use for Northern Renaissance also.


Glossaries

Glossary    Useful for Northern Renaissance


 

INTERNET SITES FOR THE NORTHERN RENAISSANCE

European Art in the Renaissance Scroll down a bit and you will find several essay sites on both Renaissances.

The High Northern Renaissance   This is an essay.  Several links at the bottom.

Renaissance Art in Northern Europe  This is a lengthy essay.

Artists by Movement :The Northern Renaissance  


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News