Academic Calendar
|
Directory
|
Maps
|
Jobs at OU
|
Research
|
Donate
|
eBill
|
Webmail
|
MySAIL
|
Moodle
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Russian Art Pathfinder

Subject Heading
The subject heading is Russian Art
Encyclopedias

Grove Art Online This is the best place to begin your research.

Hutchinson's Encyclopaedia
This is a searchable encyclopedia. The entries for Russian art are short and arranged by century and there are some links to artists.

Russian Icons (Wikipedia)

Russian Culture (Wikipedia)

Meta Sites

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Russian History Index, Cultural History
Here you will find listings of sites on photography, museums, some of which are covered below, and other cultural sites.

SEELRC Webliographies: Russian Webliography
Many sites here. See especially Russian History and Culture.

Russian Studies: Sites tio link you to history,politics and culture

 

Resources

Russian Painting
This is great site, one of the best that I have come across. It covers icons, 18th-20th centuries.

A Brief Overview of Major Movements in Russian Art after 1850

Olga's Gallery
Arranged by artist.

Online Art Gallery
Arranged by movements and painters.

The Picture Gallery of I K Aivazovski

New Gallery
This is an online gallery; focus is on modern art.

Russian Empire, 1895-1910: Keystone-Mast Collection
Photographs.

Introduction to Russian Civilization
This is course syllabus. Here are some of the topics covered:
* Course Syllabus
* Web Resources
* The Orthodox Church: history, doctrine, art, and architecture
* The last years of "Old Russia" and the advent of Peter the Great
* Portrait Painting Under Elizabeth and Catherine
* Russian Painting during The Age of Romanticism
* Russian Thought in the Nineteenth Century
* Russian Realist Art
* The Slavic Revival and the World of Art (Mir iskusstva)
* Russian Art of the Avant-Garde
* Link to PowerPoint Lecture Slides
* Link to Research Guide (NEW!)

From Russia with Art
Click on Visual Arts. Arranged by artists, works and a searchable database.

Russian Art . Russian Artists . Russian Culture
This is good for some online journals and links to artists.

Resources on Russian Art
Scroll down to III, "Selected Resources on Individual Russian Painters" and you will fnd sites on specific painters.

Famous Russian Museum Paintings

Russian Art and Architecture
This is mostly narrative covering icons, modern art and architecture.

Virtual Museum of Russian Primitive

Web Gallery of Art
This site picks up about four Russian artists. I have preset the index to Russian but it may not stay there. Short bios with links and paintings.

Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana

Russian Studies: Art/Architecture History

Russian Visual Arts Searchable by images, database, critics and texts.Covers 1824-1909."The archive contains over 100 hundred primary texts, in Russian and in many cases in new English translations, as well as over 300 digital images of journal and newspaper reproductions of works of art. A comprehensive editorial structure places these rare and/or previously unpublished works in their cultural and historical context. This editorial work includes introductions to the critics and the texts, new annotations to the translations, a glossary, a timeline of the development of art criticism, and an extensive bibliographical database."

Museum of Russian Art "Located in Minneapolis, Minnesota, The Museum of Russian Art is the only museum in North America dedicated exclusively to the preservation and presentation of Russian art and artifacts. A unique cultural resource, the museum features a dynamic rotation of originally curated exhibitions showcasing extraordinary works of art seldom displayed in the United States. Through the museum’s educational programs and diverse exhibitions, visitors can explore new and diverse perspectives of Russian history, heritage and art."

Famous Russian Museum Paintings

Russian Folk Art Covers toy and lacquer boxes.

Icons and Iconography

Russian Icon Painting
This is narrative and explains what icons are, how they are made and famous icon paintings.

Olga's Gallery
This too is mostly narrative with links to famous iconographers and icons.

Novgorodian Icon Painting
Narrative.

Russian Icons: Index
Arranged alphabetically by title.

Icon Painting: Grand Masters and Major Schools

Andrei Rubilev Museum of Ancient Russian Art

Novgorod Online There are sites on icons here.

Evolution of Style in the Muscovite Icons

Miscellaneous Icons

Iconography of the Orthodox Church
Several sites on Russian iconography.

Orthodox Icons


Images
Artstor Use the search engine or browse by subject.
Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News