OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Russian History Pathfinder

Printed Sources

ENCYCLOPEDIAS and Overviews

Encyclopedia of Russian History. (Ref. DK 14 .E53 2004) 4 vols.

Encyclopedia of Russian History. (Ref. DK 36 .P39 1993) This book is less an encyclopedia and more of a dictionary.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution. (Ref. DK 265 .B54 1994)

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe. (Ref. DJK 6 .E53 2000)

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union . (Ref. DK 14 .C35 1994)

Slavonic Encyclopaedia. (Ref. D 377 .S58 1969) Four volumes. Entries are scholarly and the scope is the entire Slavic world.

The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook

Wikipedia History of Russia


DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Russian Historical Terms from the Eleventh Century to 1917. (Ref. DK 36 .P78 1970)

Dictionary of the Russian Revolution. (Ref. DK 265 .D49 1989)

Country Information

A Country Study: Russia

CIA World Factbook

ATLAS

Cultural Atlas of Russia. (Ref. DK 32 .M62 1998)

COMPANIONS (useful for dates, occupants of various offices and treaties; organized by broad topics like Internal politics or Nationalities)

Longman Companion to Imperial Russia, 1689-1917 . (Ref. DK 113 .L66 2000)

Longman Companion to Russia since 1914. (Ref. DK 266 .M 353 1998)

CHRONOLOGIES

Great Dates in Russian and Soviet History. (Ref. DK 36 .G74 1994)

Internet Resources

Gateways

Russian History Index

SEELRC Webliographies: Russian Webliography
Many sites here. See especially Russian History and Culture.

Documents and Sources

Russian Revolution

Documents in Russian History
Covers pre-Petrine Russia to Soviet Union.

Primary Sources
Varied but strong on legal texts.

Revelations from the Russian Archives
Covers the Soviet period.

Marxists.org Internet Archive
Covers writers, history and a subject archive.

Russian History Home Page Divided into three time periods, this site provides historical documents in English.

Documents of Russian History 1914-1917

Soviet History Archive Covers government,the great patriotic war,revolution and culture and society.

Discussion Sites

H-Russia

Maps and Gazetteers

The Russia Gazetteer

FEEFHS Map Room (Federation of East European Family History Societies)
Scroll down and you will find several links.

Russia and the Former Soviet Republics Maps

Chronologies

Chronology of Russia

Historical Pictures

The Empire That Was

Resources

The Russian Revolution
Also, click on Russian Revolution and you will get many more sites.

Russian History Websites
There are a variety of sites here: Anastasia; Empress Alexandra; St. Petersberg; Icons; Letters of Tsar Nicholas.

REES (Russian and East European Studies Virtual Library)
This site allows you to browse a subject such as Art in a culture such as Russian or Rusyn in a specific region by time period and it has a search engine too.

Historical Text Archive
This site is a collection of many different topics -cross disciplinary. There is also one for the Soviet Union.

Lectures of Michael B Petrovich Petrovich was a famous Russian historian at UW Madison . Scroll down to the bottom.

 

Archives and Guides

Slavic and Eastern European Studies
From Stanford University, this site lists print sources.

Archives in Russia
Covers guides and other finding aids, printed directories, research inquiries and family history.


Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News