OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Witchcraft and the Occult Pathfinder

Encyclopedias and Overviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLES AND OVERVIEWS

Encyclopedia of Religion. (Ref. BL 31 .E46 2005, vol. 14)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D 114 .D5 1982, vol. 12)

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D 114 .E539 2000, vol. 2)

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. (Ref. CB 361 .E52 1999, vol. 6)

Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. (Ref D 209 .E97 2004, vol. 6)

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. (Ref. HA 2 .I5 2008, vol. 4 - see article on "majic") Also available online.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. (Ref. BR 302.8 .O93 1996, vol. 4)

Encyclopedia of Anthropology. (Ref. GN 11 .E63 2006, vol. 5)

The Encyclopedia of the Unexplained: Magic, Occultism, and Parapsychology. (Ref. BF1411 .C32 1974)

Witchcraft Today : An Encyclopedia of Wiccan and Neopagan Traditions. (Ref. BF 1571 .L49 1999)

Catholic Encyclopedia (witchcraft)

Catholic Encyclopedia (occult)

Wikipedia (witchcraft)

Wikipedia (occult)

Encyclopedia Mythica

The Mystica: An on-line encyclopedia of the occult, mysticism, magic, paranormal and more...

Encyclopedia of Witchcraft in the Western Tradition
Internet

Resources

Early Modern Europe:The Witch Hunts A collection of texts and secondary sources.

17th Century New England, with Special Emphasis on the Essex County Witch-Hunt of 1692 This is an excellent collection of links including primary sources.

Cornell University Witchcraft Collection "The Cornell University Library Witchcraft Collection is an online selecton of titles from the Cornell University Library's extensive collection of materials on Witchcraft. The Witchcraft Collection is a rich source for students and scholars of the history of superstition and witchcraft persecution in Europe. It documents the earliest and the latest manifestations of the belief in witchcraft as well as its geographical boundaries, and elaborates this history with works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. Most importantly, the collection focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy." You can either browse or use a search engine.

Occult Symbols

Witchcraft Craze History

Cunning Folk.com "This website is dedicated to those fascinating but little-known magical practitioners called cunning-folk. Having recently written a book on the subject which explores their role in English history over the last five hundred years, it seemed like a good idea to set up a web companion to provide a brief introduction to their world.

Cunning-folk, who were also known as wise-women, wise-men, conjurors and wizards, were an integral part of English society right up until the early twentieth century. Over the centuries hundreds of thousands of people must have consulted them regarding a wide range of problems, but particularly those concerning affairs of the heart, theft, sickness and most important of all witchcraft." Covers spells and magic and resources and links.

Occult Glossary

The Skeptic's Dictionary

The Alchemy Web Site

Medieval Sourcebook Witchcraft Documents


Cunning Folk Wiki


Bibliographies

Witchcraft Bibliography

Bibliography for the Study of Magic Witchcraft and Religion

Library Contact
Picture: Dan Ring

Dan Ring
Reference Librarian
ring@oakland.edu
248.370.2498


Edit

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News