OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Art

Find Images
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
    ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. 
  • Google Art Project
  • Guide to Finding Images on the web
Museum websites are also excellent resources for high-quality images of art. 

Citing Images.pdf pdf A guide prepared by EasyBib on citing images.

Scholarly resources
The general call number ranges for the arts include N through NX, and TR for photography.  The book collection includes such things as critical writings, artist biographies, artist monographs, technical guides, and reference materials.

Oxford Art Online is an online reference collection specific to the arts.  If you need artist biographies, art term definitions, or critical theory definitions, use this resource.

To locate journal articles, the following databases are recommended:

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Art Full-Text
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Art Bibliographies Modern
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Berg Fashion Library
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Historical Abstracts
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
BHA and RILA - Index of European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.  This is not an OU resource, and will not have the Get It! link avaialble for you; so if you need assistance with this resource please contact the art librarian.

Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News