Art21: https://art21.org
Non-profit organization that produces the PBS series, Art in the Twenty-First Century (and others). All of their videos are extremely high quality and are on their website. Easy to search by artist.
ArtAsiaPacific: http://artasiapacific.com/News
Print magazine with great website that includes news items, podcasts with artists, and a blog.
ArtLinkArt: http://www.artlinkart.com/ala_about/en/about.html
Online database project for Chinese contemporary art.
artscape Japan: English version: http://www.dnp.co.jp/artscape/eng/index.html
Japanese version: https://artscape.jp
Website (web magazine) dedicated to the arts produced in Japan—this includes information/essays about individual artists, exhibitions, and museums. Please note that this is not a scholarly website and thus one should be cautious about using any analytical material from it. For those who read Japanese, the Japanese website is much easier to navigate and has more relevant material.
Artsy: https://www.artsy.net/gene/contemporary-asian-art
Online database of contemporary art with resources on galleries, museums, and auctions, as well as short essays on various topics. Very Euro-American focused, but does still include some artists who are more globally located.
Art Radar: http://artradarjournal.com
Now defunct online newspaper focused on the contemporary arts of Asia. Though no longer actively updated, the website does have useful posts dated prior to late Dec. 2018.
Asia Society: https://asiasociety.org
International non-profit educational organization that publishes books/articles, hosts international forums, and supports the Asia Society Museum (New York). While they do all things Asia related, the organization is particularly strong with their support of the arts and academic study of them.
AWARE: https://awarewomenartists.com/artistes/
Non-profit organization dedicated to “restoring the presence of 20th-century women artists in the history of art.” Their index of artists does include some Chinese artists (with bios and artworks). Website in both English and French.
E-flux: https://www.e-flux.com
“Publishing platform and archive, artist project, curatorial platform, and enterprise” dedicated to contemporary art, theory, and culture. It has an online journal and various resources on contemporary art (essays, exhibition announcements, videos, podcasts).
Experimental Beijing: Gender and Globalization in Chinese Contemporary Art http://www.experimentalbeijing.com
“digital companion to the book Experimental Beijing by Sasha Welland”
Hyperallergic: https://hyperallergic.com
Blog/news posting site focused on the contemporary arts world. Though American-centric, it does sometimes have posts about more globally-located artists.
Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art 1980-1990
Website: http://www.china1980s.org/en/Default.aspx
Film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jdOd_bmo1AY (English)
Project that revolved around producing a documentary titled “From Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Arts in the 1980s.” The website contains numerous interviews with artists (used for the film) as well as some other resources on the arts of this period.
Morning Sun: http://www.morningsun.org/index.html
“Film and website about the Cultural Revolution.” It does not provide the best quality for images or other media, but has some interesting images (not cited unfortunately).
Museums/Galleries/Collections:
Asia Art Archive: https://aaa.org.hk/en
Archive of material (primary and secondary) on contemporary art. Strong point of the archive is the digitization of the archives of individual artists. Their entire collection is online. Their online journal (“Ideas”) also includes numerous timely essays, interviews with those in the arts fields, and other resources.
Asia Society Museum: https://asiasociety.org/museum
Asian Art Museum (San Francisco): http://www.asianart.org
Fukuoka Asian Art Museum (Japan): http://faam.city.fukuoka.lg.jp/eng/home.html
Dedicated to modern and contemporary art. Image and citations database (collections online) is limited and primarily focused on China, but could still be useful depending on your artist/topic.
The Museum of Modern Art (New York): https://www.moma.org
National Gallery Singapore: https://www.nationalgallery.sg
As described on their website “the largest public collection of modern art in Singapore and Southeast Asia.” While focused on the arts of these two areas, their collection does include works by artists of East Asia or diasporic artists.
National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea
English website: https://www.mmca.go.kr/eng/
Korean website: https://www.mmca.go.kr/main.do
Tate Modern (London): https://www.tate.org.uk/art
Preeminent modern arts museum in the U.K. The website has a good list of art terms, easily searchable collection of images, and some additional resources (videos, lectures, etc).
Non-profit organization that produces the PBS series, Art in the Twenty-First Century (and others). All of their videos are extremely high quality and are on their website. Easy to search by artist.
ArtAsiaPacific: http://artasiapacific.com/News
Print magazine with great website that includes news items, podcasts with artists, and a blog.
ArtLinkArt: http://www.artlinkart.com/ala_about/en/about.html
Online database project for Chinese contemporary art.
artscape Japan: English version: http://www.dnp.co.jp/artscape/eng/index.html
Japanese version: https://artscape.jp
Website (web magazine) dedicated to the arts produced in Japan—this includes information/essays about individual artists, exhibitions, and museums. Please note that this is not a scholarly website and thus one should be cautious about using any analytical material from it. For those who read Japanese, the Japanese website is much easier to navigate and has more relevant material.
Artsy: https://www.artsy.net/gene/contemporary-asian-art
Online database of contemporary art with resources on galleries, museums, and auctions, as well as short essays on various topics. Very Euro-American focused, but does still include some artists who are more globally located.
Art Radar: http://artradarjournal.com
Now defunct online newspaper focused on the contemporary arts of Asia. Though no longer actively updated, the website does have useful posts dated prior to late Dec. 2018.
Asia Society: https://asiasociety.org
International non-profit educational organization that publishes books/articles, hosts international forums, and supports the Asia Society Museum (New York). While they do all things Asia related, the organization is particularly strong with their support of the arts and academic study of them.
AWARE: https://awarewomenartists.com/artistes/
Non-profit organization dedicated to “restoring the presence of 20th-century women artists in the history of art.” Their index of artists does include some Chinese artists (with bios and artworks). Website in both English and French.
E-flux: https://www.e-flux.com
“Publishing platform and archive, artist project, curatorial platform, and enterprise” dedicated to contemporary art, theory, and culture. It has an online journal and various resources on contemporary art (essays, exhibition announcements, videos, podcasts).
Experimental Beijing: Gender and Globalization in Chinese Contemporary Art http://www.experimentalbeijing.com
“digital companion to the book Experimental Beijing by Sasha Welland”
Hyperallergic: https://hyperallergic.com
Blog/news posting site focused on the contemporary arts world. Though American-centric, it does sometimes have posts about more globally-located artists.
Materials of the Future: Documenting Contemporary Chinese Art 1980-1990
Website: http://www.china1980s.org/en/Default.aspx
Film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jdOd_bmo1AY (English)
Project that revolved around producing a documentary titled “From Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Arts in the 1980s.” The website contains numerous interviews with artists (used for the film) as well as some other resources on the arts of this period.
Morning Sun: http://www.morningsun.org/index.html
“Film and website about the Cultural Revolution.” It does not provide the best quality for images or other media, but has some interesting images (not cited unfortunately).
Museums/Galleries/Collections:
Asia Art Archive: https://aaa.org.hk/en
Archive of material (primary and secondary) on contemporary art. Strong point of the archive is the digitization of the archives of individual artists. Their entire collection is online. Their online journal (“Ideas”) also includes numerous timely essays, interviews with those in the arts fields, and other resources.
Asia Society Museum: https://asiasociety.org/museum
Asian Art Museum (San Francisco): http://www.asianart.org
Fukuoka Asian Art Museum (Japan): http://faam.city.fukuoka.lg.jp/eng/home.html
Dedicated to modern and contemporary art. Image and citations database (collections online) is limited and primarily focused on China, but could still be useful depending on your artist/topic.
The Museum of Modern Art (New York): https://www.moma.org
National Gallery Singapore: https://www.nationalgallery.sg
As described on their website “the largest public collection of modern art in Singapore and Southeast Asia.” While focused on the arts of these two areas, their collection does include works by artists of East Asia or diasporic artists.
National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea
English website: https://www.mmca.go.kr/eng/
Korean website: https://www.mmca.go.kr/main.do
Tate Modern (London): https://www.tate.org.uk/art
Preeminent modern arts museum in the U.K. The website has a good list of art terms, easily searchable collection of images, and some additional resources (videos, lectures, etc).
Katie Greer
Associate Professor
greer@oakland.edu
248.370.2480