OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO ALS 4376/ALS 5580/SOC 3830 - Language and Society

Select Reference Books
Online
Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics

A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
How We Talk: American Regional English Today

The Handbook of Language Variation and Change
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory


Print
Dictionary of American regional English - PE 2843 .D52 1985 2nd Floor South (Non-Circulating)

The atlas of North American English : phonetics, phonology and sound change - PE 2808 .L26 2006 2nd Floor South (Non-Circulating)

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Humanities Full Text
Here you'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews dealing with literature, movies, journalism, dance, and communication. 1984 to present. How to export to RefWorks.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA contains abstracts and indexes to the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - current. 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1960 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks
Websites
Language on the Move
peer-reviewed sociolinguistics research site devoted to multilingualism, language learning and intercultural communication in a transnational world.

Center for Applied Linguistics
CAL is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture.

Studies on LGBTQ Language: A Partial Bibliography
Bibliography compiled by Northwestern University professor Gregory Ward. Includes articles as recent as 2008.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Library Contact
Picture: Meghan Finch

Meghan Finch
Assistant Professor
mmfinch@oakland.edu
248.370.2457

Office: 241 Kresge Library
Office Hours: Fall 2017 by appointment
 
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News