An 8-volume series that provides an overview of African history from the earliest times to 1975.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Print. Ref. DT 2 .N48 2008
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Guide to works in African Studies since 1984.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, the history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. How to export to RefWorks
JSTOR : Full text articles from many journals in African studies and history.
Project MUSE Includes many journals in African studies.
Major journals of African history
- African Online Digital Library (manuscripts, printed documents, images, oral histories and interviews on various aspects of African history)
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent (slides, photographs and sound recordings)
- World Digital Library
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- African Studies Multimedia Archives (maps, images of art, wildlife, artifacts, and much more)
- African Art: Aesthetics and Meaning (images of an online exhibition catalog)
- The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs, 1860-1960
- Images of Colonialism (late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers that document how popular perceptions of Africa were propagated)
- Vernon McKay photographs (African daily life in the mid-20th century)
- African Politics Web Archive (websites of election campaigns in Africa)
The transatlantic slave trade
- selected books on Southern African History
- Cambridge History of South Africa
- South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
- African National Congress Historical Documents Archive
- South African History Online
- South Africa - Media
- Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA): images, documents and audio recordings documenting the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994
- South African posters (politics, health, religion, liberation struggles, art exhibitions, and social issues)
- South Africa Truth and Reconciliation Commission Archive
- Historical newspapers
- Ghana maps
- Sudan Archive
- Travelers in the Middle East Archive (particularly Egypt)
- Oriental Institute Photographic Archives (Sudan, Egypt)
- The Giza Archives
- G.I. Jones Photographic Archive of Southeastern Nigerian Art and Culture
- The Liberian Letters
- Maps of Liberia (1830-1870)
- The Congo Expedition, 1909-1915
- Genocide Archive of Rwanda
- Our Lagos History
- Kenya Gazette
- Kenya National Archives collections
- Nigeria photographs, 1990s
- Tombouctou Manuscripts project
Humanities Librarian for History and Modern Languages
[by phone or virtual meeting]