OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Biological Sciences

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Library Contact
Picture: Joanna Thielen

Joanna Thielen
Assistant Professor
jthielen@oakland.edu
248.370.2477

Office Hours: W 10-12 and Th 1-3
Office: Kresge Library room 249
Click on the button below to set up an appointment or email me if my office hours don't work for your schedule
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

General Biological Sciences Resources
Toxicology & Pharmacology Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex
Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, thereapuetic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Remote access limited to enrolled students and OU-based faculty.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
 
Online Reference Materials
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Biology (Collins)
"An established reference work, this work has now been revised, updated and expanded to reflect developments in this rapidly advancing science, especially in the area of genetics. The Dictionary is designed for advanced school students and for undergraduates. It is also a valuable resource for all who have an interest in the life sciences."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Biology (Penguin)
"This dictionary offers clear explanations of biological concepts and processes, and the broadest coverage of the subject, from ecology to immunology and cytology. This will be an indispensable reference aid for would-be biologists and professionals alike."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology
"This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures."
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology
"This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology, from A to Zythia."
Useful Websites
Biochemical Society
The Biochemical Society promotes the advancement of the molecular biosciences, representing the interests of all those working in the sector.

Biochemistry News from ScienceDaily
Read the latest research in biochemistry -- protein structure and function, RNA and DNA, enzymes and biosynthesis and more biochemistry news.

Patents
US Patent & Trademark Office
European & World Patents
Find Articles
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities. It also contains tools that track, analyze and visualize scholarly work.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Medline via Web of Science
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine. Coverage: 1950-present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Science Direct
Full-text journals published by Elsevier; coverage is generally from 1995-present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Includes popular and professional articles about biology and agriculture. 1983-present How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff General Science Full Text
Covers everything from supernovas to marine pollution. Here you'll find articles from 160 journals and magazines from the United States and Great Britain. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar
Unrestricted Resource Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.

Unrestricted Resource MelCat
MeLCat is a statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. MeLCat allows you to request materials at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Springer eBook Collection
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks published by Springer-Verlag since 2005. Especially strong coverage of the physical and biological sciences, computer science, engineering and technology.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Books@Ovid

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News