To find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, you'll want to use the Web of Science database. Why?
Web of Science
Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.
Tips for searching Web of Science:
More tips and tricks on using Web of Science
- Web of Science has many powerful search features that Google doesn't have (see Tips section below)
- If you use Google, you will be able to see the title and abstract of the article. BUT you'll have to pay to access the full text of the article.
- OU Libraries already purchases a subscription to Web of Science for you so you won't have to pay to access articles in this database
Web of Science Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.
- Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
- Contains over 66 million items
- Coverage years = 1900 to present
- Use quotation marks (" ") to search for phrases: "stem cell", "climate change", etc. (Quotation marks aren't need for single words)
- Try searching for an organism's common name and scientific name: Human (common name), Homo sapiens (scientific name)
- On the search results page:
- Use the filters on the left side to narrow down your search results
- Sort the articles by 'Relevance' by clicking on the 'Sort by' feature on the top toolbar (The default sort order is Publication Date Newest to Oldest)
- After clicking on the title of an article, click 'Get It!' under Full Text Options (top toolbar) to access the whole article
More tips and tricks on using Web of Science
Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469
Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu
Check our these new anatomical illustrations from Iowa State University.
These are available to you as part of the open science movement.
These are available to you as part of the open science movement.
Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.
Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to
get help with your research.
Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.
Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.