Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.
- Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
- Contains over 66 million items
- Coverage years = 1900 to present
PubMed is a free online interface provided by the National Library of Medicine to search MEDLINE, which focuses on biomedical literature.
- Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, datasets, editorials, news articles
- Contains over 28 million items
- Coverage years = 1946 to present
It’s free to search so you can use it after leaving OU (but you may not be able to access the full text of the items you find in PubMed).
As the name implies, this database focuses on biology, ecology, forestry, and agriculture.
- Publication types: journal articles, reviews, magazine articles, trade publications
- Contains over 500,000 items
- Coverage years = 1983 to present
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database explores opposing sides of many important issues; but your chosen topic may not be covered.
This database includes pro/con viewpoints, reference, newspaper, magazine and academic journal articles, statistics, videos, and images.
For BIO 3000, the ‘Energy and Environmentalism,’ ‘Health and Medicine,’ and ‘Science, Technology and Ethics’ sections will be the most relevant to look through.
- The New York Times Science Section - leading US newspaper
- BBC News Science Section - UK news source
- EurekAlert! - created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
- Nature News - science news articles from Nature Publishing Group
- New Scientist - UK science & technology magazine
- Smithsonian magazine Science Section - publication by the Smithsonian Institute in Washington D.C.
- National Public Radio Science Section
- Abstract - Scholarly articles will have a short abstract summarizing the whole article
- Methods section - Scholarly articles will have this section that tells exactly HOW the research was conducted
- References section - Scholarly articles will always list other articles in a References section
- Level of language used - Popular articles are written at an 8th grade reading level and are meant for the general public. Scholarly articles are written using high-level discipline specific language and are meant for scientists with advanced degrees.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
Dictionary of Medical Terms
Penguin Dictionary of Biology
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology