OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO BIO 3140 - Histology

Databases
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)

PubMed is a free online interface provided by the National Library of Medicine to search MEDLINE, which focuses on biomedical literature.

  • Publication types:  journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, datasets, editorials, news articles
  • Contains over 28 million items
  • Coverage years = 1946 to present

It’s free to search so you can use it after leaving OU (but you may not be able to access the full text of the items you find in PubMed).


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science

Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.

  • Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
  • Contains over 66 million items
  • Coverage years = 1900 to present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Ulrich’s contains over 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. Each periodical summary tells you information such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, and reviews written by librarians. Ulrich’s will tell you if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed!

Avoiding plagiarism

Kresge Library Plagiarism Tutorial

*****

Plagiarism is defined by the Modern Language Association (MLA) as "the use of another person's ideas, information, or expressions without acknowledging that person's work" [MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed., p. 66].

Examples of plagiarism include copying from a source word for word without citing the original source, as well as paraphrasing an author's words or even ideas withoutgiving appropriate credit.

Take a look at Oakland University's statement on plagiarism and academic dishonesty in the Oakland University Student Handbook.
Library Contact
Picture: Joanna Thielen

Joanna Thielen
Assistant Professor
jthielen@oakland.edu
248.370.2477

Office Hours: Tues 1-2 and Wed 10-11
Office: Kresge Library 245

Click on the button below to schedule an appointment or email me if appointments don't work for your schedule

Book an appointment
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News