Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.
- Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
- Contains over 66 million items
- Coverage years = 1900 to present
- Use quotation marks to search for phrases
- Example search: "polar bear" AND behavior
- Use truncation (*) to search for multiple forms of a word
- Example search: using the keyword behavio* searches for behavior, behaviour, behaviors, behaviorally, etc.
- Try adding the scientific name of your species
- Example search: (chimpanzee OR "pan troglodytes") AND behavior
- This finds articles that containing both chimpanzee and behavior or both pan troglodytes and behavior
- Brainstorm all of the common names of your species and add them as keywords
- For example, the African penguin is also called Cape penguin, South African penguin, black footed penguin and jackass penguin
- Example search: ("African penguin" OR "Spheniscus demersus" OR "Cape penguin") AND behavior
Not sure if a journal is a scholarly, peer-reviewed source? Ulrich’s can tell you!
Ulrich’s contains over 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.
Search by the name of the journal. On the search results page, if there's a yellow star next to the journal name, then it's a peer reviewed journal.
Contact me at: email@example.com
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.