LIBRARY GUIDE TO BIO 4234 - Biochemistry of Diseases (CRN 42280)

Liberman M, ed. Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry: A Clinical Approach. 5th ed. Baltimore, MD: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2018. [LWW Health Library]

Chandar N. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Cell and Molecular Biology. 2nd ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2019. [LWW Health Library]

Ferrier DR. Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry, 7th ed, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2017. [LWW Health Library]

Pelley JW. Elsevier's Integrated Review Biochemistry. 2nd ed. Elsevier, 2012. [ScienceDirect]

Toy EC. Case Files: Biochemistry. 3rd ed. McGraw-Hill, 2015. [AccessMedicine Case Files Collection]

Biochemistry Review Questions via AccessMedicine - Create a free account to generate multiple-choice practice quizzes.

Baynes JW, ed. Medical Biochemistry. 5th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Saunders, 2019. [ClinicalKey]

Jansen LW, ed. The Big Picture: Medical Biochemistry. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2018. [AccessMedicine]

Kumar V. Basic Concepts in Clinical Biochemistry: A Practical Guide. Springer, 2018. [SpringerLink]

Litwack G. Human Biochemistry. Elsevier, 2018. [ClinicalKey]

Meisenberg G. Principles of Medical Biochemistry. 4th ed. Elsevier, 2017. [ClinicalKey]

Murphy M. ed. Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text. 6th ed. Elsevier, 2019. [ClinicalKey]

Rodwell VW. Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry. 31st ed. McGraw-Hill, 2018. [AccessMedicine]

Saudubray JM, ed. Inborn Metabolic Diseases: Diagnosis and Treatment. 5th ed. Berline Heidleberg: Springer; 2012.[SpringerLink]



 

• AccessMedicine
  This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
• ClinicalKey
  Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To download book chapter PDFs, please log in or register for a free account. NOTE: Vendor recommends updating to most recent version of browser.
• Clinical Pharmacology
  A comprehensive drug database used by over 2,000 hospitals, Clinical Pharmacology contains up-to-date, detailed information on thousands of drugs. Its advanced features allows you to run reports on interactions, search by indication and contraindication, check IV compatibility, and print patient information materials.
• PubMed (MEDLINE)
  The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. PubMed dates back to 1946 and includes more than 32 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health, and dentistry. PubMed also includes citations from PubMed Central and the NCBI Bookshelf.
• Scriver's OMMBID
  Essential resource for comprehensive coverage of the role of genes and genetic mechanisms in human disease. Includes detailed information on the genetic variation as well as clinical descriptions and treatment.
• UpToDate
  A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, OB/GYN, and surgical topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Register for a free account and download the free app from iTunes.

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, 2nd ed, Elsevier, 2014. [ScienceDirect]
Comprehensive overview of all aspects of contemporary biochemistry with more than 500 topics written by content experts. Includes biblographies for further reading, search capibilities, and an online glossary.

Scriver's OMMBID
Essential resource for comprehensive coverage of the role of genes and genetic mechanisms in human disease. Includes detailed information on the genetic variation as well as clinical descriptions and treatment.
 

Genetics Home Reference - Free from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Genetic information written at the consumer level. Links to information in the OMIM.

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) - Free from Johns Hopkins University. Excellent source of information on genetic disorders.

Physician Data Query (PDQ) - Free database from the National Cancer Institute containing in-depth information on various types of cancer. Has information written at both the clinician and the patient levels.

AMA Manual of Style - online reference book

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.