OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO BIO 4340 - Evolutionary Medicine

Finding journal articles
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed is a free online interface provided by the National Library of Medicine to search MEDLINE, which focuses on biomedical literature.
  • Publication types:  journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, datasets, editorials, news articles
  • Contains over 32 million items
  • Coverage years = 1946 to present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science

Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.

  • Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
  • Contains over 66 million items
  • Coverage years = 1900 to present
 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!

Does the Library Have the Article I Need?
Use Library OneSearch to find out if we have full-text of an article. For example, let's say you want to find this article:
  • Casali, N., Nikolayevskyy, V., Balabanova, Y., Harris, S., Ignatyeva, O., Kontsevaya, I., Corander, J., Bryant, J., Parkhill, J., Nejentsev, S., Horstmann, R., Brown, T., & Drobniewski, F. (2014). Evolution and transmission of drug-resistant tuberculosis in a Russian population. Nature Genetics, 46(3), 279–286. https://doi.org/10.1038/ng.2878
Just search Library OneSearch for a portion of the article title "Evolution and transmission of drug-resistant tuberculosis", and you should see a link to the full-text article!

If we don't have your article electronically or in-print, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad. It's a free service but a few days for the article to be available
Conquering scientific terminology
These online reference sources are a good place to find short and easy to read summaries on biological and medical topics.

Medical Terms
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary

Dictionary of Medical Terms

Biological Terms
Dictionary of Biology (Penguin)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu

 
RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Online Tutorials

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News