OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO BIO 473 - Biochemistry of Diseases (CRN 45650)

Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, 2nd ed, Elsevier, 2014. [ScienceDirect]
Comprehensive overview of all aspects of contemporary biochemistry with more than 500 topics written by content experts. Includes biblographies for further reading, search capibilities, and an online glossary.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scriver's OMMBID
Essential resource for comprehensive coverage of the role of genes and genetic mechanisms in human disease. Includes detailed information on the genetic variation as well as clinical descriptions and treatment.

Key Databases
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff AccessMedicine
    This is a collection of 60 full-text medical and basic sciences books from McGraw-Hill, including Harrison's Textbook of Medicine. AccessMedicine also includes images, videos, diagnostic tools, patient education handouts, and drug information.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ClinicalKey
    Medical and surgical content from Elsevier, including more than 900 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. To access the PDF, please log in or register for a free account with your institutional subscription.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Micromedex
    Micromedex is a collection of databases containing full-text information on drugs, toxicology, and diseases. The drug information is detailed, referenced, and includes drug comparisons and identification, thereapuetic class searching, and dosing. Micromedex also includes an extensive patient education component.
  • Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
    The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Scriver's OMMBID
    Essential resource for comprehensive coverage of the role of genes and genetic mechanisms in human disease. Includes detailed information on the genetic variation as well as clinical descriptions and treatment.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff UpToDate
    A large, evidence-based online resource covering thousands of internal medicine, pediatric, and OB/GYN topics. Designed to answer point-of-care clinical questions. Remote access limited to enrolled students and OU-based faculty.

Library Contact
Picture: Nancy Bulgarelli

Nancy Bulgarelli
Medical Library Director
bulgarel@oakland.edu
248.370.2481

Other Useful Web Sites
Genetics Home Reference - Free from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Genetic information written at the consumer level. Links to information in the OMIM.

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) - Free from Johns Hopkins University. Excellent source of information on genetic disorders.

Physician Data Query (PDQ) - Free database from the National Cancer Institute containing in-depth information on various types of cancer. Has information written at both the clinician and the patient levels.




Citation Style
AMA Manual of Style - online reference book

AMA Manual of Style Cover
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News