OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO BIO 4970 - Scientific Inquiry and Communication

Finding Articles

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)
The National Library of Medicine's free interface for MEDLINE, the premier database for biomedical journal citations. MEDLINE dates back to 1946 and includes more than 20 million citations in medicine, nursing, allied health and dentistry. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Includes popular and professional articles about biology and agriculture. 1983-present How to export to RefWorks


 
Reference Sources
Need to find background information on your topic? Stuck on some difficult terminology? These online reference sources are a good place to find short and easy to read summaries on biological topics.

Medical Terms
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary 


Stedman's Medical Dictionary 

Biological Terms
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dictionary of Biology (Penguin)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Popular Scientific News Sources
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Library Contact
Picture: Joanna Thielen

Joanna Thielen
Assistant Professor
jthielen@oakland.edu
248.370.2477

Office Hours: W 10-12 and Th 1-3
Office: Kresge Library 245
Click on the button below to set up an appointment or email me to schedule an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Plagiarism Tutorial

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News