OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Biography & Genealogy

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Academic OneFile
A huge and highly heterogeneous multidisciplinary mix of scholarly, journalistic, practitioner and popular sources, with much direct full-text included. Use the tabs to identify scholarly, newspaper or other sources as necessary. Thanks to MeL / How to export to RefWorks Coverage: 1980-present

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Biography & Genealogy Master Index
This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.  Thanks to MeL

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Biography Index Past and Present
This resource finds articles, books, and autobiographies on people from antiquity to the present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest Online provides access to digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930. Other valuable content includes Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank records, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and digitized pages from more than 28,000 genealogy and local history books.
Thanks to MeL

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe
NEWS: full text access to newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, news wires, and transcripts. News sources are never scholarly, but they can give you up-to-date information on current events.
BUSINESS: access to financial and business information for specific companies. It's most accurate when you limit your search by sources, such as Hoover's Company Reports, S&P Corporate Descriptions, American Marketplace, and Tax Analysts Publications.
LEGAL: you can search for legal information such as court decisions, legal codes, legal news, and law journals. The coverage includes information both at the state level and at the federal level. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel New York Times - Current
Full-text from 1985 to the present date. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Offers full-text, full-image articles of The New York Times, going back to 1851. The database can be used to search national and international news, editorials, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, plus historical photos and advertisements. The documents are downloadable in PDF format. How to export to RefWorks

Library Contact
Picture: Beth Wallis

Beth Wallis
Associate Professor
wallis@oakland.edu
248.370.4879

Office: 237 Kresge Library
Office Hours: By appointment

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News