SciFinder-n
SciFinder is a tool provided by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) that covers biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. You can search it by keyword, chemical structure or substructure, reaction, chemical name, or formula.
- Publication types: journal articles, patents from around the world, dissertations, abstracts, reviews, books, reputable web sources
- Updated daily
- Contains over 48 million items
- Coverage years = 1800s to present
Before using, you’re required to register for a personal SciFinder account.
New to SciFinder or need a refresher on how to search it? CAS has several short (> 5 min) tutorials that can help you to search SciFinder quickly and easily.
Web of Science
Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.
- Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
- Contains over 66 million items
- Coverage years = 1900 to present
Scopus
Scopus an international multi-disciplinary database for the sciences and social sciences.
- Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, patents, conference proceedings/papers, trade publications, editorials
- Contains over 70 million items
- Coverage years = 1970 to present
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Ulrich’s contains over 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. Each periodical summary tells you information such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, and reviews written by librarians. Ulrich’s will tell you if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed!
Selected journals published by the American Chemical Society.
RSC Journals
Selected journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry
- The New York Times Science Section - leading US newspaper
- BBC News Science Section - UK news source
- EurekAlert! - created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
- Nature News - science news articles from Nature Publishing Group
- New Scientist - UK science & technology magazine
- Smithsonian magazine Science Section - publication by the Smithsonian Institute in Washington D.C.
- National Public Radio Science Section
Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu
Library OneSearch
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.
MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.
Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.
Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.
Write Like a Chemist: A Guide and Resource by Marin Robinson
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Is this journal peer-reviewed or refereed? Ulrich's will tell you!
The website of the American Chemical Society.
Chemspider
"A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources." Sponsored by the RSC.
Chemicool
A guide to the development and characteristics of the Periodical Table of Elements.