OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO CHM 4257 - Biochemistry Lab

Find Journal Articles
Unrestricted Resource PubMed (MEDLINE)

PubMed is a free online interface provided by the National Library of Medicine to search MEDLINE, which focuses on biomedical literature.

  • Publication types:  journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, datasets, editorials, news articles
  • Contains over 28 million items
  • Coverage years = 1946 to present

It’s free to search so you can use it after leaving OU (but you may not be able to access the full text of the items you find in PubMed).


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff SciFinder

SciFinder is a tool provided by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) that covers biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. You can search it by keyword, chemical structure or substructure, reaction, chemical name, or formula.

  • Publication types: journal articles, patents from around the world, dissertations, abstracts, reviews, books, reputable web sources
  • Updated daily
  • Contains over 48 million items
  • Coverage years = 1800s to present

Before using, you’re required to register for a personal SciFinder account.


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science

Web of Science contains publications related to the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It’s an excellent database for comprehensive and interdisciplinary searches.

  • Publication types: journal articles, books/book chapters, reviews, conference proceedings, abstracts, data papers, editorials, news articles
  • Contains over 66 million items
  • Coverage years = 1900 to present
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

Library Contact
Picture: Joanna Thielen

Joanna Thielen
Assistant Professor
jthielen@oakland.edu
248.370.2477

Office Hours: Tues 1-2 and Wed 10-11
Office: Kresge Library 245

Click on the button below to schedule an appointment or email me if appointments don't work for your schedule

Book an appointment
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

How to Write as a Chemist/Biochemist

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News