OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Cinema Studies

Find Video and Visual Resources
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff VAST: Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Look for specialized collections (Theatre in Video, Opera in Video) under Advanced Search. This collection Includes many classics of early cinema, as well as more contemporary video on a truly vast variety of topics. If you set up an account, this site enables you to select video snippets for subsequent use in a variety of contexts.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Library Catalog  An excellent place to search for video in here in the library. Simply choose "Title begins with" as your search option, limit to "DVD-Video" and enter the title in the search box. Remember to eliminate initial articles from the title, e.g. "Searchers" not "The Searchers," "Farewell to Arms" not "A Farewell to Arms."
Find Articles
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
No definitive dates of coverage--Variety goes back to 1914 (but Variety reviews included are often extracts of  the lengthier reviews--orginal reviews can be found in the print Variety Film Reviews), books are indexed from the mid-1990s, some journals are indexed as far back as the early 1970s.  Many articles are full text within this index, but be sure to click on the get it linklinks for articles without a full text link.  OU may have access to the full text from another source or may own the source in print.  Note the "cite" feature--but be sure to check that the citation meets all the requirements of MLA citation!

JSTOR
and Project MUSE
Both of these resources are entire collections of scholarly journals and the full text of all their articles.  Neither includes a long list of film journals, but they do include several important ones.  JSTOR includes the backfiles of journals up to one year or more ago [and in some cases includes current issues also].  JSTOR includes backfiles of Cinema Journal (1966-2006 and its earlier title from 1961-1965), Film History (1987-2006), and Film Quarterly (1958-present and its earlier titles from 1945).   ProjectMuse includes Cinema Journal (1999 to present), Film & History (2004 to present),  Film History (2005 to present),  Framework: The Journal of Film and Media (2006 to present), Velvet Light Trap (2003 to present), etc.

Film Literature Index
Print version:  1973-2004  Ref. PN1993.F647
Online Version:  1976-2001  Unfortunately, this online index does not have get it link links so you will need to check the Library Catalog to see if we have the item indexed.  You can limit to "peer reviewed" (i.e., scholarly sources).

MLA Bibliography
usually thought of as an index to langauge and literature, MLA also indexes academic/scholarly books, chapters in books,  journals, and dissertations in the area of film.

New York Times Historical
Wonderful source for film reviews.  To make it easier to find a review be sure to restrict your search to the year in which the movie appeared (or perhaps the next year also).
Covers 1851-2007.  For more recent years see the New York Times - Current.
Find Books

Library Catalog
Use the catalog to find books, videos, recordings, and goverment documents we have at the library.

MelCat
A statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. It allows you to request books at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Reference Sources
Film Review Annual  Ref. PN1995.F465    1981-2002 (covering films from 1980-2001)
excerpts of movie reviews (including Village Voice, Sight and Sound, Los Angeles Times, etc) and references to other reviews.

Magill's Cinema Annual  Ref. PN1993.3.M34   1982-2010 (covering films from 1981-2009)
review like essay/summary and credits, citations to reviews, quotes, trivia.  Also, each volume includes introduction summarizing the year.

Screen World  Ref. PN1993.3.D3   1949-2008, but we are MISSING 1960-1962, 1964-1968, 1970-1972.
lists cast and has many photographs from each year's movies.  U.S. films in one section, foreign films in another section.

Variety Film Reviews  Ref. PN1993. V6     1907-1980
arranged by date with reproductions of film reviews as they appeared in Variety.  Index volume is very useful since you need to know month, day, and year of review.

New York Times Film Reviews  Ref. PN1994.N4    1913-1984, 1993-2000
Not as important since we have the New York Times Historical [online], but the 1913-1968 index and indexes at the end of the later volumes can be very helpful.  Finding the "principal" review of a film in the online New York Times can sometimes be a challenge.

New York Times Encyclopedia of Film  Ref. PN1993.N465 1984    1896-1979
"reprint collection of facsimile articles that appeared in The New York Times."  Articles are arranged chronologically but there is an index.  Topics such as censorship are included!

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
--excellent source to discover release date for a film.  This information is quite helpful in finding the "principal" review in The New York Times.

Media History Digital Library -
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals (public domain for full public access).
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Other Sources

When you are using the library's databases, be sure to click on the blue link when the article you want does not have a full text link in the database.  will then take you to the article from another source. If there is no online access for the article, you can click on the library catalog link to see if there are print holdings. If the libary has no print copy of the article, you can link to a form to request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

InterLibrary Loan
In addition to requesting articles via the link and using MelCat for books not found via the Library Catalog, you can also fill out online interlibrary loan requests via ILLiad.
 

Microfilm
History of Cinema.  Series 1.  Hollywood and the Production Code  Microfilm PN1995.62.H57 2006 (north wing, 2d floor)
includes files for 500 films produced from 1927 to 1968.  "The core of the files is the correspondence between the studios or producers and the staffs of the PCA and the MPAA. Also included are confidential reports from state and national censor boards, copies of the official Production Code certificate letter, analysis sheets, song lyrics, wardrobe photographs, and articles and reviews from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications."  Click here for link to the guide to the collection--includes an introduction, a listing of what is on each reel, and an alphabetical listing of films included (with reel numbers).

Microfilm reader/printers are located on the wall near the microform cabinets.  Behind the circulation desk there is a reader connected to a computer where you can digitize (and then attach files to you e-mail) rather than print.  This is "free."  To print from microfilm you need your student ID with Spirit Cash--and charge is $.10 per print. 

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News