Library Help during COVID
For up-to-date information on how Kresge Library is keeping you safe, visit our COVID-specific webpage and learn how to request:
- virtual research help;
- .pdf copies of chapters from print books from Kresge Library, sent to you for free;
- contactless pickup of books and other resources.
Library of Congress
A variety of ways to browse the Library of Congress's online content:
- All Digital Collections: includes digitized photos, drawings, audio recordings, notated music, maps, newspapers, books, and more.
- Search Films, Videos available online: Listed. You can filter by date, location, subject, and language.
- Browse Collections with Films, Videos: Peruse the thematic collections that include films and videos. Each collection includes a descriptive title and summary of its contents.
- National Screening Room Collection: Documentary and educational films selected by LOC to record past perspectives of mental health, communism, homosexuality, racial relations, etc.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing free access to cultural texts and artifacts. Be sure to check each file for its license. A few collections hosted by the Internet Archive with strong holdings in moving images:
- Moving Image Archive: over 6 million films, organized thematically, free for download.
- A/V Geeks: collection of 1,500 ephemeral films "gathered from school auctions, thrift stores, closets and dumpsters," with an emphasis on public service films.
- Prelinger Archives: collection of over 8,000 ads, instructional, amateur, and educational films.
- VJ Loops and Performances
Other Free Archives
- New York Public Library Digital Collections: 900,000 digitized items, including prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, film, and more.
- Videvo: Free stock video footage, motion graphics, music tracks, and sound effects, all with clear licensing statements.
- Calisphere: over 1 million digitized items sourced from the UC system, public libraries, and cultural heritage institutions. You can filter to just films and sounds.
- The Open Video Project: Repository of videos hosted by the School of Information and Library Science at UNC-Chapel Hill