OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO CIN 321 - The City and the Cinema

Library OneSearch
Find articles, books, etc...


Subject-Specific Article Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
No definitive dates of coverage--Variety goes back to 1914 (but Variety reviews included are often extracts of  the lengthier reviews--orginal reviews can be found in the print Variety Film Reviews), books are indexed from the mid-1990s, some journals are indexed as far back as the early 1970s.  Many articles are full text within this index, but be sure to click on the get it linklinks for articles without a full text link.  OU may have access to the full text from another source or may own the source in print.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Both of these resources are entire collections of scholarly journals and the full text of all their articles.  Neither includes a long list of film journals, but they do include several important ones.
  • JSTOR includes the backfiles of journals up to one year or more ago [and in some cases includes current issues also], including Cinema Journal (1966-2006 and its earlier title from 1961-1965), Film History (1987-2006), and Film Quarterly (1958-present and its earlier titles from 1945).
  • ProjectMuse includes Cinema Journal (1999 to present), Film & History (2004 to present), Film History (2005 to present), Framework: The Journal of Film and Media (2006 to present), Velvet Light Trap (2003 to present), etc.
Unrestricted Resource Film Literature Index
  • Print version:  1973-2004  Ref. PN1993.F647
  • Online Version:  1976-2001  Unfortunately, this online index does not have get it link links so you will need to check the Library Catalog to see if we have the item indexed. You can limit to "peer reviewed" (i.e., scholarly sources).
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography
Usually thought of as an index to langauge and literature, MLA also indexes academic/scholarly books, books chapters, journals, and dissertations in the area of film.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff New York Times Historical
Wonderful source for film reviews. To make it easier to find a review be sure to restrict your search to the year in which the movie appeared (or perhaps the next year also). Covers 1851-2007. 
Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Find Books
Kresge Library Catalog
You can use the library catalog to find books, scholarly & popular journals, government documents, dvds & videos, reference materials, sheet music, and more.

MelCat
MeLCat is a statewide catalog of many of Michigan's libraries. MeLCat allows you to request materials at another library be sent to Kresge Library for you.

Reference Sources
A thorough list of reference sources in cinema studies can be found on the Cinema Studies Subject Guide.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News