OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO CIN 450 - Detroit Media

Subject-Specific Article Databases
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
 Includes film and television theory, reviews, cinematography, production, and more. Many articles are full text within this index, but be sure to click on the get it linklinks for articles without a full text link.  OU may have access to the full text from another source or may own the source in print.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR and Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Project MUSE
Both of these resources are entire collections of scholarly journals and the full text of all their articles.  Neither includes a long list of film journals, but they do include several important ones.
  • JSTOR holds not only film criticism, but a number of articles concerning media and representation. Includes the backfiles of journals up to one year or more ago [and in some cases includes current issues also], including Cinema Journal (1966-2006 and its earlier title from 1961-1965), Film History (1987-2006), and Film Quarterly (1958-present and its earlier titles from 1945).
  • ProjectMuse includes Cinema Journal (1999 to present), Film & History (2004 to present), Film History (2005 to present), Framework: The Journal of Film and Media (2006 to present), Velvet Light Trap (2003 to present), etc.
Unrestricted Resource Film Literature Index
Includes scholarly journals relating to communication, film, and media studies; articles are full text. 
Usually thought of as an index to langauge and literature, MLA also indexes academic/scholarly books, books chapters, journals, and dissertations in the area of film.


Newspapers
Detroit Free Press
Browse the Free Press's website for current news. Looking for something a bit more historical? Use the Free Press's online archive as an index. While you won't be able to read the full text online, you can use it to search for keywords, copy down the date and page number where it appears, and submit a request. Or, skip the above and use this resource on campus in one of Wayne State University's libraries.

Detroit News
OU Libraries have the Detroit News on microfilm ( AN 2 .D47 D49 ) through December 2015. Have a specific date or event in mind to search? Microfilm preserves the newspaper as it was originally formatted, which is useful for revisiting the initial media release and retaining the chronological order of successive coverage. Microfilm is housed on the first floor; see more on how to use microfilm. Or, skip the above and use this resource on campus in one of Wayne State University's libraries.

Views from Outside Detroit
Whether you're looking to compare or corroborate media coverage, other regional newspapers are another interesting layer of mediation.  
     New York Times   Use the "Place Name" option to search for coverage regarding Detroit.
     
     LexisNexis     Load this resource and look to the bottom left for the "Search the News" widget. You can search by "Major World Publications," as seen below, or change your search options for other formats, like broadcast transcripts and blogs.
      

Library Contact
Picture: Emily Spunaugle

Emily Spunaugle
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
spunaugle@oakland.edu
248.370.2498

 

 
Getting Creative with Primary Sources
Suggestions for media types generated from class:
  • posters/flyers
  • advertisements for restaurants, car dealerships, etc.
  • billboards
  • photography
  • zines
  • graffiti
  • t-shirts, apparel
  • music
  • film 
  • newspapers
  • interviews
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News