Includes film and television theory, reviews, cinematography, production, and more. Many articles are full text within this index, but be sure to click on the links for articles without a full text link. OU may have access to the full text from another source or may own the source in print.
JSTOR and Project MUSE
Both of these resources are entire collections of scholarly journals and the full text of all their articles. Neither includes a long list of film journals, but they do include several important ones.
- JSTOR holds not only film criticism, but a number of articles concerning media and representation. Includes the backfiles of journals up to one year or more ago [and in some cases includes current issues also], including Cinema Journal (1966-2006 and its earlier title from 1961-1965), Film History (1987-2006), and Film Quarterly (1958-present and its earlier titles from 1945).
- ProjectMuse includes Cinema Journal (1999 to present), Film & History (2004 to present), Film History (2005 to present), Framework: The Journal of Film and Media (2006 to present), Velvet Light Trap (2003 to present), etc.
Includes scholarly journals relating to communication, film, and media studies; articles are full text.
Browse the Free Press's website for current news. Looking for something a bit more historical? Access the Detroit Free Press from the mid 1850s through 1999.
OU Libraries have the Detroit News on microfilm ( AN 2 .D47 D49 ) through December 2015. Have a specific date or event in mind to search? Microfilm preserves the newspaper as it was originally formatted, which is useful for revisiting the initial media release and retaining the chronological order of successive coverage. Microfilm is housed on the first floor; see more on how to use microfilm. Or, skip the above and use this resource on campus in one of Wayne State University's libraries.
Views from Outside Detroit
Whether you're looking to compare or corroborate media coverage, other regional newspapers are another interesting layer of mediation.
New York Times Use the "Place Name" option to search for coverage regarding Detroit.
LexisNexis Load this resource and look to the bottom left for the "Search the News" widget. You can search by "Major World Publications," as seen below, or change your search options for other formats, like broadcast transcripts and blogs.
Assistant Professor, Humanities Librarian
- advertisements for restaurants, car dealerships, etc.
- t-shirts, apparel
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.