Mariela Hristova
Associate Professor, Nursing Librarian
hristova@oakland.edu
248.370.2464
Available for research consultations by appointment. Consultations are virtual in Google Meet.
Asking a good question is fundamental to the evidence-based decision-making process. A "well-built" question should include four parts, PICO stands for (P) patient, problem or population, (I) intervention, (C) comparison and (O) outcome(s).
EBP Steps:
EBP Steps:
- Problem Identification: Converting information needs into an answerable question
- Finding the Evidence: Finding, with maximum efficiency, the best evidence with which to answer the question
- Critique: Determining the merit, feasibility and utility of evidence
- Summarize the Evidence: Combining findings from all evidence to make a practice recommendation
- Application to Practice: Incorporating the recommendation into a clinical setting or organization
- Evaluation – Determining the effective of the practice over time
Nursing databases with evidence-based literature:
CINAHL Complete
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks
Cochrane Library
This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. How to export to Refworks.
Open Access search engines for evidence-based literature:
PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for biomedical journal citations.
PubMed Central - The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
The NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries (formerly PRODIGY) are a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (UK based)
CINAHL Complete The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is a full-text database for nursing and allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments. How to Export to RefWorks
Cochrane Library This is a collection of databases that contain evidence for healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials. How to export to Refworks.
Open Access search engines for evidence-based literature:
PubMed (MEDLINE) The National Library of Medicine's free interface for biomedical journal citations.
PubMed Central - The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
The NHS Clinical Knowledge Summaries (formerly PRODIGY) are a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. (UK based)
Public or open access search engines for Nursing literature:
- Nursing Resource Center - (MEL) Mostly Full-text. Disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams, core encyclopedia texts. NOTE: Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
- BMC Nursing: BioMed Central -- journal offering peer-reviewed research in all areas of nursing
- Directory of Open Access Journals - 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- Cancer Nursing Journal - OA collection - addresses the whole spectrum of problems arising in the care and support of cancer patients.
- Internet Scientific Publications - free online journals in many health related topics
- Online Journal of Nursing Informatics (OJNI) - Nursing Informatics
- The Open Nursing Journal: Bentham Open - publishes research articles, reviews, letters and guest edited thematic issues in all areas of nursing.
- GoogleScholar - A subsection of Google that searches only scholarly literature.
Six Things to Consider about any information source.....
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Relevancy - How relevant is the information to your topic?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
1. Authority - Who is the author/developer? What are her/his qualifications? What are the affiliations, if any?
2. Currency - Is the material current, updated regularly?
3. Relevancy - How relevant is the information to your topic?
4. Accuracy - How do you know the information contained is correct? Are the facts cited, can they be checked?
5. Objectivity/Bias - Is the information presented objectively? What bias might the authors/creators have?
6. Appropriateness - Is this a good source for academic / scholarly level research?
EBP tutorials:
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences: EBP Nursing Tutorial (UIC)
Analyzing Sources & Literature Review tutorials:
Essential Elements of a Literature Review guide (UC Santa Cuz)
Conducting Literature Reviews - detailed guide (USC)
This guide was originally created by Julia Rodriguez, Associate Professor at Kresge Library.
Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.
Julia Rodriguez is currently the Health Sciences and Scholarly Communications Librarian. From 2008 to 2020, her professional focus also included serving as the nursing librarian and this content is the result of that work.