OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO Counseling

Library Contact
Picture: Amanda Nichols Hess

Amanda Nichols Hess
Assistant Professor
nichols@oakland.edu
248.370.2487

Office Hours: Wednesdays 2-4p | Thursdays 10a-12p
Drop by or schedule an appointment here!
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Find Information
Find Books
Library Catalog
Use this catalog to find books, ebooks, DVD's and government documents that are available in print or electronically. Here you'll also find if the library subscribes to a journal or magazine in both print or electronic format.

MelCat
This is a statewide catalog of many Michigan libraries. You can request books from another library through MelCat, and these books will be sent to Kresge Library for you to borrow.
Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO
Need articles in psychology or counseling? Use PsycINFO! It's a great resource and is published by the American Psychological Association. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycARTICLES
Here you'll find full-text articles from many journals published by the American Psychological Association,  the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. PsycARTICLES is a subset of PsycINFO, so if you need more information, go to PsycINFO. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff ERIC
This is the BEST PLACE to look when finding articles about education! ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items from 1966 through the present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately one year ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, and statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. Especially good for historic or classic articles in most fields. Coverage: 1665 to present. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 social work and human services journals. Coverage: 1965 to present. How to export to RefWorks
Encyclopedias
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
This resource has been edited with the guidance of 36 consulting and associate editors (including 17 past presidents of the American Psychological Association) and contains entries in all major categories of psychology.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Counseling
"By covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling, the encyclopedia includes close to 600 entries. To enable the reader to understand the major approaches and themes within the field of counseling, the current encyclopedia has been divided into four volumes: (1) changes and challenges facing counseling, (2) personal and emotional counseling, (3) cross-cultural counseling, and (4) career counseling."

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology
"Five foundational topics provide an overall grounding for the more than 400 entries that follow. The content of these five chapters includes an overview of the history of cross-cultural school psychology in the United States, a review of cross-cultural competencies, discussion about disparities in school services, consideration of multicultural assessment tools, and future directions in the field of school psychology." (Preface)

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting (2005).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Provide users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. Accordingly, the material in this encyclopedia focuses on basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the most global (transnational economics and politics).

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Encyclopedia of Social Work
Over 400 overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, 200+ succinct biographies of key figures in social work history. Article versioning provides access to both the most up-to-date information as well as past entries back to the first published version.
Dissertations & Theses
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. It includes materials from 1861 to the present day. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Dissertations and Theses @ OU
Full text access to Oakland University dissertations and theses. How to export to RefWorks
Cited Reference Searching
If you are looking for information on what publications (books, articles, etc.) have cited a specific article, use these resources: 
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI). These indexes contain references that have been cited in other articles. You can use these citations to perform cited reference searches (locate articles that cite an earlier publication). How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Google Scholar
You can check the availability of article full text if you use our link to Google Scholar, which will ask you to log in with your OU NetID. How to export to RefWorks See our guide to adding OU Libraries resources to Google Scholar
Find Tests and Measures
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Mental Measurements Yearbook
Here you'll find descriptions and reviews of current testing instruments. Corresponds to volume 9 to present of print Mental Measurements Yearbook. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides access to article citations containing information on measurement instruments ( questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycTESTS
A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
Useful Websites
Counseling-Specific Resources:
Data Resources:
  • Unrestricted Resource American FactFinder
  • Unrestricted Resource ICPSR
    Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. These data can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses.
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff iPoll
    iPoll is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Also included is the Roper Center public opinion data which is the largest archives of public opinion information. Coverage: Data sets.
  • Michigan School Data
  • National Center for Education Statistics
  • State of Michigan Census & Demographic Data
  • Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Statistical Abstract of the United States (Proquest)
    The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States – including vital and health statistics. It is also designed to serve as a guide to other statistical publications and sources, both in print and on the Web. Visit the Statistical Abstract Guide for more information on using this resource.
Tools & Services
Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
You may request materials we don't have and we'll borrow them from another library for you.

RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News