OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO COM 201 - Public Speaking

Find Articles
Library OneSearch -- a handy, Google-like tool containing information from our library databases. Includes books as well as articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and media.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Thanks to Mel Opposing Viewpoints in Context -- Useful when researching controversial topics, provides arguments, the pros and cons.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe - Great for finding newspaper articles and company information.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Detroit Free Press Historical
Covers several editions of the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.

Databases by Subject - need something more specialized? Try this link!
U.S. Government Information
Census information -- Find social, political, and economic information here.

American Factfinder -- your source for population, housing, economic and geographical information.

USA.gov  - the official portal to the information from the U.S. Government
 
Public Opinion Polls
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff iPoll
iPoll is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Also included is the Roper Center public opinion data which is the largest archives of public opinion information. Coverage: Data sets.
Reference and Statistics
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.


Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive historical dictionary of the English language. This dictionary covers English words from 1150 CE to present, and provides etymology and quotations illustrating usage.

Online Encyclopedias - The library has a wide variety of online encyclopedias for you to use.

Statistics and Economic Information - You'll find many titles here containing statistical and economic information.
Find Primary Sources
You may find primary sources by searching the Library Catalog. Often, important primary sources are gathered together and reprinted in books. The following words and phrases in the Subject Headings of a book record may indicate that the item contains primary source material (you may also include these terms in a keyword search):
--Sources --Photography
--Personal Narratives --Interviews
--Correspondence --Sermons
--Diaries --Songs and music
--Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc. --Facsimiles
--Records and correspondence --Manuscripts
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Evaluating Sources
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Office hours: Tuesdays 3-5pm. Drop by or schedule an appointment here.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Speeches
American Rhetoric -- Important political, cultural, social speeches, includes transcripts, audio and video.

Famous Speeches in History (History.com) --audio online

Great Speeches Collection (HistoryPlace.com) - audio (in some cases) and text as well as background information.

Say it Plain, Say it Loud:  a century of great African American speeches.

Individual and collections of speeches (in print)  can be found by doing a subject search in the Library catalog: speeches

Toastmasters International:  Tips and techniques.

Find Articles
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Art Full-Text
Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Music Index
Includes articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.; also includes book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals. How to export to RefWorks

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff MLA Bibliography - the best database for finding information on literature and poetry!

Library OneSearch - access all of the library's databases here.
Reference Books online
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Credo Reference
Provides online access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference tools.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford Art Online
Online version of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, as well as articles that have been added or updated since their appearance in print. Limit 1 user. Please log off when done.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Oxford Music Online
A peerless compendium of information about music and musicians of all periods and places. Limit 4 users. Please logout when done.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Historical survey of the most important critics and theorists, critical schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism. Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Online Encyclopedias - The library has a wide variety of online encyclopedias for you to use.
Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

Evaluating Sources
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Office hours: Tuesdays 3-5pm. Drop by or schedule an appointment here.
RefWorks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.

Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Speeches
American Rhetoric -- Important political, cultural, social speeches, includes transcripts, audio and video.

Famous Speeches in History (History.com) --audio online

Great Speeches Collection (HistoryPlace.com) - audio (in some cases) and text as well as background information.

Say it Plain, Say it Loud:  a century of great African American speeches.

Individual and collections of speeches (in print)  can be found by doing a subject search in the Library catalog: speeches

Toastmasters International:  Tips and techniques.

Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News