OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

LIBRARY GUIDE TO COM 3000 - Communication Theory

Find Articles

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Communication & Mass Media Complete   The best place to start your search for articles on communication theory. Access full-text articles with the Get It! link.

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff JSTOR   -- Need full-text scholarly articles? Try JSTOR! Use quotation marks for effective searching: "Communication Accommodation Theory".

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff PsycINFO - A great tool for finding scholarly articles in communication. 

Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff Sociological Abstracts -- Another good resource to use for scholarly articles.
Restricted to OU students, faculty, and staff LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts -- The focus here is on linguisitics but a lot of communication journals are also indexed here as well. 

Browse this key journal:

Communication Theory--a particularly relevant journal title that can be searched on its web site.  It is also indexed in several of the sources above--including Social Sciences Abstracts, PsycInfo, and Sociological Abstracts.

For still other databases, see the Databases by Subject listing for Communication.

Quick Definitions
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory - Stephen Littlejohn and Karen Foss (eds.) Sage Publishers, 2009.
Does the Library Have the Article I Need?
Use Library OneSearch to see if we have access to the article. Type part of the article title in the search box, for example, type "when I call you up and you're". then click Available Online to see the article.
  • Buzzanell, P.M., Burrell, N. A. et al. (1996). 'When I call you up and you're not there: Application of communication accommodation theory to telephone answering machine messages". Western Journal of Communication, 60(4), 310-336.
If we don't an article you need, you can order the article and receive it free through InterLibrary Loan using ILLiad.
Library Contact
Picture: Kristine Condic

Kristine Condic
Professor
salomon@oakland.edu
248.370.2469

Office: 236 Kresge Library
Contact me at: salomon@oakland.edu

 
Research Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Ask a research question by phone, chat, email, or in person at the research help desk.

Research Consultation
Sign up online for an individual session with a librarian to get help with your research.

Writing Help

Writing Resources for Students
Find in-depth information about the mechanics of writing, MLA/APA citations, avoiding plagiarism, and more.

Writing Center
The consultants can help you with every stage of the writing process.

RefWorks

Refworks

Refworks allows you to create a personal database of references and automatically generate formatted bibliographies for your projects.


Edit

OU Libraries | 100 Library Drive, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4479 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries on Instagram OU Libraries News